We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Aire Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Aire Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Weslaco
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have traveled twice this year to the Valley for funerals, so we needed a peaceful, convenient location to minimize stress and meet with relatives. The Palm Aire staff were very courteous to us when our first room was not properly cleaned (odors and fingerprints) and there was a significant maintenance problem. They upgraded our room to poolside at no extra charge and wrote down our concerns with the first room. The dining room staff is consistently polite, and the service is excellent! The restaurant there is a good reason to choose this hotel. Breakfast is best ordered, though, not the buffet, if you are choosy. One exception: choose the locally grown fruit in season from the buffet. The grapefruit is the best, like homegrown. Also, the pool is a great feature at the hotel. It is sparkling clean, beautifully landscaped, and has fountains that obscure the traffic sounds from the nearby expressway. You would never know you were near the road. I would recommend that the management add an aviary for the lovely resident parrots, which would add to the tropical atmosphere at the pool. (The birds would be happier, too.) Also, the entryway planters and pavement need some maintenance, which is the first impression to newcomers. Overlooking minor cosmetic issues, visitors can expect a comfortable stay at the Weslaco Palm Aire for a very reasonable price! That is always our first stop.

Room Tip: Poolside is the nicest area. Some rooms are better than others; check to make sure windows lock pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    34
    17
    16
    20
See reviews for
36
21
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family has been coming here for over 20 years, and each year it seems to be worse. They lost electricity in the motel for 3 hours. No generator!!!! The staff was incredible, except one young man at the front desk. Since they have remodeled, it is horrible. These are a few items that were missing from our NEW room: TV remote, Do not disturb sign, fridge (like the old days), blankets on our beds, no phone book, no alarm clock. We only had 4 sheets of toilet paper on the roll when we got into our rooms, and had to make 5 trips to the office regarding this and having no remote for the tv. The only ice machine that was working was way on the other side of the motel. There are less mirrors in the room and less chairs. The upgrades they made are horrible, and we wish they would go back to way they use to be. The rooms had an odd odor to them also. Other than that, the breakfast is still fabulous, and the grounds are nice.
Not sure we will ever stay here again even though they gave us a discount on our rooms. Maybe if everyone got a discount, they would start to understand what is happening with this place.

Room Tip: Stay in the back.....less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argonia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have stayed here many times and now that it is no longer affiliated with best western I feel it is even better than it was. We stayed in a newly remodeled room that was nicely decorated with an awesome pool view. The front desk was extremely helpful and even gave us directions to different restaurants we might like. Housekeeping was ver accomodating and the free breakfast can not be beat. Can't wait to stay here again next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

GOOD,
Up-dated room. (Extra charge) ..new bed, carpet, TV, drapes.

BAD ..y
Reduced TV service,No phone books in THE ENTIRE HOTEL..Hot tub, stream room, sauna, cold pool: None working as they should. Wet area is filthy. Mold on walls and baseboards,, Management should be ashamed and embarrassed by this place.

Grounds are sad. A once beautiful show place has been neglected to the point that there is no longer a lawn, just dirt ! The foliage is dry and browning up. Except for the pool, the area has gone to pot. No longer is pride evident.

The breakfast buffet has long been a popular attraction of this hotel. It's un-believable that they would drop this asset in favor of cold rubber eggs and paper plates.

I've been coming here for over 20 years.

I keep coming back, hoping that the place will return to the days before Best Western dropped them.....sadly, it's seems that this is not going to happen any time soon.!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boojake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weslaco hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you are looking for hotel with a club that has the base rattling the windows of your room until 2 am, then this is the place for you.

I have stayed in probably 400 to 500 hotels in my military career and this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The staff doesn't care what so ever. However on a good note they said there is no band on Sunday through Thursday.

The breakfast was so so as long as you got in line before the whole hotel staff arrived. On a plus note, if you have kids, don't worry of they make a mess, because it seems nobody who works here does as well.

Do not stay here unless you are college group coming here for spring break, then you will love it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2TwinGirlsareawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

First of all, let me say that we have been staying at the Palm Aire for more than a decade... back when it was still a Best Western and it was a beautiful motel property (nice large rooms, beautiful grounds and pool and a terrific full breakfast buffet)... we stayed there last December and it was awful - room smelled like mold, half the hotel rooms were sealed off because the AC wasn't working, breakfast was so-so and the attitude of the "then" owners was that they didn't care... Best Western pulled their brand off of the property due to poor performance. This year (December 2012) I re-booked the Palm Aire after reading some encouraging reports from some of the Trip Advisor reviewers... so, we stayed there after Christmas and it's better... but, still has a way to go. Rooms are being gutted and redone, grounds are looking good and the pool has been updated. Breakfast was excellent again and it seems they are trying... so, I'm cautiously optimistic that the new owners will have this property up to standard in the next 6 months... until then, I think the Holiday Inn Select next door might be a better short term option... but, don't give up on Palm Aire... I think it's going to be great again soon.
PS... if Palm Aire is reading this... please get some new mattresses - ours was terrible!

Room Tip: Ask if any of the updated rooms are available... when we were there, they were completely starting o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoadWarriors5433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I usually don't write reviews but after 2 bad stays here I thought I should. Our stay started off bad and just seemed to get worse as it went on. Upon check in the girl couldnt find our reservation and needed me to go back out to the car and get the reservation I had printed. She then tried to charge me the going rate now verses when I had made the reservation even though I had a copy of the reservation with the rate on it. I had to get a manager to give us the rate we were quoted. She then proceeded to take a phone call in the middle of check in and leave me standing there for 5 minutes while she helped someone on the phone instead of putting them on hold. Extremely poor customer service if you ask me. We finally got to our room only to see that it was the same dingy old room we had last year even though they supposedly were under new management and had newly designed rooms. The free wifi was just as bad as last year. The only time you stood a chance of connecting to the internet was between 6-8 am. This makes it extremely hard to try and do any type of business while there. I had to go to McDonalds to check email for work. There were numerous signs around for happy hour from 5-7 daily. When I went into the lounge there was not a single person in there (not even a bartender). On day 2 after a long day out and about we returned to our room to find our keys didnt work. Apparently they had only programmed them for 1 night. No apology from the girl at the desk when I had to go back to get them programmed again. Day 3 there was a fight in the kitchen between 2 employees which started off as just yelling but then they started cursing at each other. Not appropriate for people in the dining room to be hearing. They gym equipment was old and outdated but I guess I should be happy that it at least worked. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is the hot breakfast buffet was good every morning but unfortunately that is not enough to get my business again next year. We will definately be staying at a different hotel next December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weslaco
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weslaco
4.4 mi away
Victoria Palms Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Texas Inn Weslaco
Texas Inn Weslaco
#8 of 10 in Weslaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mercedes
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Donna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
10.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alamo - McAllen East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Aire Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Aire Hotel & Suites

Property: Palm Aire Hotel & Suites
Address: 415 South International Blvd., Weslaco, TX 78596
Location: United States > Texas > Weslaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Weslaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Aire Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Aire Hotel and Suites Weslaco TX Hotel is located in the semi-tropical Rio Grande Valley, 2 exits from Rio Grande Valley Outlet Mall,five miles from the Progresso,MX, and approximately 20 miles from Miller Airport and Valley International Airport. This location is also two miles from Tower Theater, three miles from the Valley Nature Center and Gladys Porter Zoo, five miles from golf courses PGA rated Tierra Santa, 14 miles from the Santa Ana Wildlife Refuge, 20 the Iwo Jima Memorial, and 40 miles from South Padre Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Palm Aire Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Aire Hotel Weslaco
Palm Aire Hotel And Suites
Best Western Palm Aire
Weslaco Best Western Palm Aire
Best Western Weslaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing