We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really fine local delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nana's Taqueria

Nana's Taqueria
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Weslaco
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
671 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Really fine local delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We asked Estero Llano Grande SP staff for a Mexican restaurant nearby for lunch and were directed to Nana's. BINGO!

This small piece of savory heaven is at the corner of International Blvd. and Mile 6 North (a.k.a. 18th St.), two stoplights north of the state park. The driveway into the parking lot is on the south side of Mile 6/ 18th St., just west of the intersection.

Seven tables, a family preparing and serving food with smiles and pride in an immaculate setting greeted us.

We two had the famed lonches (hadn't read the reviews, just saw the menu photo and description and were intrigued), and a chicken torta. We split/shared the orders. The cup of charro bean soup and a half order each of the two entrees filled us up. The lonches were the "especial" that included fried onions, cheese, avocado, tomato slice on top. Oh, my!

We sampled the three salsas, enjoyed the tiny dollop of the orange one, but settled on the green. The torta options included bistec, ground beef, carnitas and chicken. Both the lonches and tortas are served on bolilla rolls (bolilla is a honey-enhanced bread that gives a nice counterpart flavor to the filings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Edge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Weslaco's hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Simple, clean, great service, and best tasting mexican dishes in the form of lonches, tacos and such. Try it you will love it.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manns Harbor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Tacos I Have Ever Had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A group of us went there for lunch and everyone LOVED it. Several people had the lonches and raved about them. I had the best chicken tacos I have ever had. The service is good and the atmosphere wonderfully local. I highly recommend this little place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Order the Lonches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The lonches are incredible. I didn't love the tacos or the guacamole so I'll just stick with the lonches from now on.

Look for a house, just off 1015. I got a little lost thinking it was right on 1015.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
162 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lonches for lunches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place is a little hard to find, as the address seems to indicate it is on International Blvd. You actually have to make a turn on to the cross street and it is the first building on the left after you make the turn. But it is a good place to eat. Never had lonches before so I didn't know what to expect. I guess it's kind of like a taco on a dinner roll instead of a tortilla, is the best way to describe it, but it tastes great. Not a bad price really either, got 5 for $5. Instead of chips and salsa for an appetizer they bring you a little cup of charro beans too. Those are excellent. Not a real fancy place, more like a hole in the wall, but clean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WinthropJQuiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana's Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Nana's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing