We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lonches for lunches”
Review of Nana's Taqueria

Nana's Taqueria
Ranked #3 of 109 Restaurants in Weslaco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Marcos, TX
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lonches for lunches”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place is a little hard to find, as the address seems to indicate it is on International Blvd. You actually have to make a turn on to the cross street and it is the first building on the left after you make the turn. But it is a good place to eat. Never had lonches before so I didn't know what to expect. I guess it's kind of like a taco on a dinner roll instead of a tortilla, is the best way to describe it, but it tastes great. Not a bad price really either, got 5 for $5. Instead of chips and salsa for an appetizer they bring you a little cup of charro beans too. Those are excellent. Not a real fancy place, more like a hole in the wall, but clean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WinthropJQuiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Outstanding and charming --- and the food is great!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nana's has become a favorite of ours when in South Texas. The service is very good; and the food is excellent! I especially like their homemade guacamole Mexicana and homemade chips. Everything we've tried is very good. And the price is very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lonches were delicious”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

While in weslaco I googled best restaurants in weslaco this place was # 1 so my husband and I decided to try it .
I had the lonches and my husband had the tacos ,both were delicious !
Small cozy place ,service was good ,salsas were delicious .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molina_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Marvelous lonches”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place is tiny, with seven tables, a corrugated steel roof, and zero ambiance, but don't let the appearance scare you away. It's the place where the locals eat, which is always a good sign. We first saw a large, brightly colored sign advertising something called lonches, a term we had never encountered before in our many visits to Mexican restaurants over the years. But after seeing five flawless reviews on the Tripadvisor site, we decided to give it a try. For uninformed Coloradans like us, lonches turned out to be essentially tacos served in a bolillo roll instead of a taco shell and are evidently a local dish found only in the Rio Grande Valley, according to my local sources. Whatever the origin, they are well worth trying, and Nana's does a wonderful job of preparing them. They start with five small rolls (or three in a half order), split lengthwise, and then add taco meat, shredded cabbage, tomato, avocado, cilantro, sauteed onions, and crumbled cheese, They are served with a cup of charro beans and three sauces with varying degrees of heat (be careful with the orange colored sauce -- it could be used to start fires!). To say that the lonches were a hit with my wife would be a gross understatement. If I hadn't taken her back to Nana's for a second round, our trip probably would have ended in divorce -- or worse!! Our dinner bill for two came to a whopping $12.46, so try this place before it goes bankrupt. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike33514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a local Gem!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place Rocks! Best lonches ever and great small side of bean soup. Absolutely nothing fancy and very small but clean as a whistle and exceptional food. Great place for lunch or a quick dinner. Other things on the menu looked good but we can't get past the lonches...Also, the 3 sauces they serve with them are fantastic...The spiciest is full of wonderful flavor. This is really a local restaurant that know's how to do things right - simple and delicious!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RVfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana's Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Nana's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing