We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steak and Great Staff”

Saltgrass Steak House
Ranked #16 of 154 Restaurants in Webster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have eaten at this establishment almost (1) a month for the past 4 years. Great Lunch Menu until 4 (even on Saturday/Sunday) and large menu at dinner. The Shiner Bock Bread and Butter is to die for.
Before you get to full just thinking about it, here are some home runs to order. Salad (Caesar Salad), Soup (Baked Potato Soup), Ribeye with BBQ Shrimp (wrapped in bacon and stuffed with cream cheese and jalapeno) and dessert would be the 16oz (1 Pound) fresh made Cheesecake.
Enjoy the food and the rustic Texas Decor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milliganmonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food served by unbelievably rude waitstaff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

As we sat down at our table, a waiter and a waitress had a near miss and my date thought something was about to fly In his direction. The waiter came over a minute later and apologized and then remarked to my date that it “wouldn’t be a bad thing if she (the waitress) had fallen in your lap, but then you (turning to me) would have to close your eyes, ma’am.” I was embarrassed and my date said that was just plain offensive. Totally inappropriate thing to say. Later when our food was brought out, my date stated that he did not want butter on his steak, and the waiter (different than the first) said very sarcastically “OutSTANDing” and took it away. At this point I’m just annoyed that such great food has to be served by such a-holes. Won’t go back just for that reason.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLove_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My Husband's Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband LOVES this place. The food really is good and fast. The atmosphere is cozy and romantic. He orders the ribs and I order the steak salad. They give you a lot of food. SOmetimes we end up taking some home.
The desserts are BIG.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank swalkerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great steak for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The STEAK! My family loves the Wagon Boss Sirloin. Flavorful and tender - yummy! We also enjoy the salmon and beef tips. Wonderful onion straws come as a garnish with many entrees, or can be ordered as a side. The only disappointment was the crab cake - it made me want to cry. Otherwise a delightful place for that birthday celebration or other special event. And you won't have to break the bank to do it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluefishbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been here a few times, The service is almost always good, the food is excellent, plenty of room for large groups. We go on special occasions and splurge a little more than usual, so we tend to stay a while and they never seem to try to "push" us out even when we are in a large group. Great place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunandfun247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

Webster, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Webster, Texas Gulf Coast
Webster, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing