We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to stay if...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Houston NASA
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Webster
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not a good place to stay if...”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Motel 6 chain is known for cheap hotels and this is in fact a cheap place to stay. The price was good but you do not get much other than a room and a bed. so, if that is all you are interested in then this is an OK place o stay. However, if you want a little more then find another hotel - ANY hotel.

First, the Motel 6 policy of charging $3.00 ($2.99) for Wifi is absurd and simply a way to jack up the room another 3 dollars every night you stay. Wifi comes free with all Internet 'hook-ups' these days so there is no cost to them... just to you. I stayed in a Motel 6 in Brownsville, Texas 2 days before I got to Houston and there was no charge!

The room was NOt cleaned. We returned to the room at 9pm and the room had still not been cleaned. We asked that they empty trash and change the towels and NOt do the beds. They did send someone over in about 15 minutes with towels and asked us to put the trash outside the door (NOT cool!). When I turned the TV on it did not work - it was a bad control, however, they would NOT send anyone from the office with another control. Our room was at the far end of the lot and it was simply a 'pain' in the "A" to have to get back out and go to the office. The attendant in the office was rude and very unpleasant to deal with (Still not sure if it was a male or female attendant.) The 'new' control worked for one day and had to be replaced!

The next morning when I went out you could see from the balcony all the dog 'poop' between the rooms and the pool area - good think we did not walk there during the night!

The only good thing was - as I said - the price... and the young lady that worked the day shift. She was quite pleasant and cared about the people that stayed in their location.

There are zero extras - coffee maker, hair-dryer etc. It is a cheap stay (but not as cheap as you think when you add on an extra charge each night for Internet - this is a VERY bad policy and they should stop. Every hotel in the area gives you free Wifi - except this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0calO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
21
14
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dickinson
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

1. Polite staff
2. Close to eateries and tourist attractions
3. Cheap Rates
AND NOW FOR THE TRAVELER BEWARE.
1. Drinking and Fighting in parking lot (after asking around town - seems this is not unusual
at this motel)
2. People kicked and banged on doors to rooms that were not theirs during late night and early
morning hours
3. Carpets was dirty, took shower walked to bed and had to go wash feet again and put on
slippers
4. Dog poop everywhere there is grass and even by the grassy area at pool fence
shame on travelers who don't pick up BUT double shame on Hotel for not keeping grounds
clean and monitoring
5. WIFI is a daily fee - not free
6. If you ask staff if motel is Safe - they assure you it is - But I firmly believe it is only Safe
because the Police do monitor and respond quickly
7. Door knob fell off in my hand when I turned it

I would not ever stay here again and I would not recommend

Room Tip: No Tips for a good room - I checked out as fast as possible, didn't even stay a full 24 hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sundeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was very surprised cause i havent stayed in a motel 6 since rhe 80s and i was happy to report it was a great experience at a good price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dljtx72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriam, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Best bed I've every slept on while traveling. Clean, comfortable, and convenient location and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merriamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My kids and I frequently stay here because of the location, price, and service. And the pool is great!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carriehowser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

This property was quite nice, given it is merely a motel. I think they have recently refurbished the rooms, they are now all in the 'new style' Motel 6 decor. The location is somewhat detached from the highway which is nice in terms of noise. Our room was facing the opposite side to the highway, so it was almost totally quiet. Would come back if I am in the area. Also nice in case you want to visit the Nasa facilities.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank annaanna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I stayed here because I wanted a cheap rate to keep my traveling costs down. The front desk help was friendly and efficient. The large room was very clean and had recently been renovated. It had a large Philips flat screen TV but few other perks. But, if you want perks, you should stay at the W for $500 / night! If you're on a budget and don't need the frills, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverbulletv90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Webster
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Webster NASA-Clear Lake-Houston
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Houston/NASA/Webster Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Webster Hotel, NASA
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Space Center-Clear Lake
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston NASA/Webster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Houston NASA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Houston NASA

Property: Motel 6 Houston NASA
Address: 1001 W Nasa Rd 1, Webster, TX 77598-4911
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Webster
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Webster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Houston NASA 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Houston NASA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Houston South - Clear Lake Hotel Webster
Webster Motel 6
Webster Motel Six
Motel 6 Houston NASA Webster, TX

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing