We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, nice atmosphere, but poor food.”
Review of Mesquite Pit

Mesquite Pit
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Weatherford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good service, nice atmosphere, but poor food.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the brisket and ribs. The ribs were fairly tough, kind of hard to eat. The brisket was very fatty as well. And most of the meat had hardly any taste. I don't think they smoke it, as they say. It's a shame that the only very good part of the meal was the fried green tomatoes and fried jalapenos. But the staff was very friendly and nice, but that is not enough to make me return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaymie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    56
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great down-home food.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Home cooking style food that is always good. They are more than a BBQ place - chicken fried chicken is quite excellent here. Some of the stuffed dead critters are a bit much in the decor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a local favorite. The service was good in spite of our waitress covering our table for two as well as two very large family tables. The grilled mesquite chicken and the New York strip we enjoyed were both delicious. We opted for blackberry cobbler for dessert, although the owner claims that the banana pudding and coconut cream pie are made by his mother and unbeatable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KelCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great BBQ but crowded and loud.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great BBQ but crowded and loud. We had to wait just a few minutes to get seated. Very large dining area. Too loud for me, hard time talking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good BBQ and Steaks”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Four of us tried this place for a late dinner. The menu has lots to chose from for sure. We tried an appetizer of stuffed jalapenos and onion rings they were very tasty. The BBQ was great and the Chicken Fried Steak is great as well. All of the sides were hot and fresh. The atmosphere is great. Looks and smells like a BBQ or Steak place should. The service was very good. Will go back for sure.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesquite Pit also viewed

 

Been to Mesquite Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing