We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Burger” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Burger

Big Burger
Ranked #18 of 141 Restaurants in Weatherford
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Aledo
Level Contributor
92 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Big Burger has very tasty and various burgers on the menu. Love the Bacon Burger with cheese. Tasty frys as well. The burgers are a little pricey but worth a try for sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent and different burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We were driving through Weatherford on our way home from Possum Kingdom Lake and looked on TA for a good burger joint. Big Burger popped up as a good spot so we checked it out. It's at the end of a strip center, nothing special inside, but clean. Great burgers though. One had green hatch chiles, cheese, onions and the other had jalapeños, cheese and onions, both 1/3 pound and they were delicious! Both had a kick that we like but there were maybe 15 different burgers on the menu, including turkey burgers. They serve fries, sweet potato fries and onion rings. We had some rings and they were crispy, not soggy and tasty. Overall, we were pleased and we'll return if we pass through again. Right on the main drag in Weatherford before you pass all the huge auto dealers.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wide selection but unremarkable burgers and sides”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Visited Big Burger with my family this evening. It is in Hudson Oaks, not Weatherford so whoever called it Weatherford needs a geography lesson. The reviews here gave it pretty high marks but oobandiloo7 hit the nail on the head about the grease.

We ordered Laredo burger, El Paso burger, Alpine burger, BBQ burger and sides of onion rings, fried pickles, and french fries. The hamburgers are unremarkable. You can get the same thing from any restaurant that serves frozen patties heated on a flat grill. No grill marks or other sign that there was anything fresh about it in spite of the fact that their website advertises fresh ingredients (www.bigburgertx.com). Maybe they're talking about the french fries which do appear to be fresh cut skin-on fries. As sides go, of the ones we bought the fries were the best.

The onion rings were bagged rings that you can get anywhere (Sonic comes to mind here) and I'm led to believe that oobandiloo7's comment about grease may have been related to his purchase of onion rings since they seemed to have been heated to just the right temperature to maximize their grease absorption. The fried pickles may have been fresh-made but regardless they were mostly grease (I have a thick film of grease on my tongue right now that I'm hoping hot coffee will remove).

They have free beer in the small cooler by the register! Probably free because they don't yet have a liquor license nor did they have someone at the register old enough to sell it. It isn't on the menu either. Evidently there is a one beer per paying customer limit too.

All in all a totally unremarkable place to eat what is probably a pink slime burger dressed up with fresh plant material and prepared on a flat grille and served with your selection of greasy sides. There is a microwave also but I didn't see what they were doing with that. Hopefully that isn't where they melt the cheese on the burgers though I wouldn't be surprised since the fried pickles were room temperature when they arrived.

Baseball on one television and Fox News on the other. 'Nuff said there.

I'll do just about anything once and I can now say that I ate at Big Burger. Once is enough for this life. Coffee's done now.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“mmm, that is a tasty burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have eaten here on multiple occasions and have not been disappointed. The employees are friendly and inviting, the burgers are exceptional with many different taste sensations available; my favorite is the El Paso, and the fries are always cooked just right. GIve the sweet potato fries a try as well. The restaurant is always clean. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boblovesnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Park, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice burger joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Have eaten at Big Burger twice. Both have been very good. They offer many different twists on the burger ie: Austin, New Mexico, etc. Can get with different types of peppers, guacamole, grilled onions, etc. Good sides. Nice owners and staff. Little pricey for burger , but what isn't these days. 1st choice for burgers is still Boo Rays up the street. They will custom make your monster burger at no extra cost. Give Big Burger a try. You will enjoy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HobsonVictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Burger also viewed

 

Been to Big Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing