We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drove right by” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef Point Cafe

Chef Point Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Chef Point Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Watauga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Five Star Food in a gas station. Featured on Food Networks Diners Drive-ins and dive, Paula Deen Magazine, CNN, New York Times and many others.
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Drove right by”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Missed it on first pass and had to turn around. The gas station sign is more prominent than the restaurant sign. The service and food were both excellent. My wife had French cut pork chops and I had chicken fried steak. The seasoning was perfect, no salt or pepper required. I'm usually not a fan of restaurant mashed potatoes however these may have been the best I've had. The atmosphere is more like a diner and while I get the novelty, it didn't seem to quite match the menu (chicken fried steak excepted). The tables were very close together and I think it makes a better place for dining with a group than date night. We were the only couple in the place. Will definitely look for an opportunity to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HPUDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    77
    46
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quality but quirky. Near gourmet in a gas station.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

At one of my occasional visits to outstanding Chef Point, enjoyed delightful, big Triple lamb chop dinner, grilled a perfect medium rare with a little char. Fabulous rich wine sauce. Roasted vegs & potatoes helped me get all that sauce in. Great service always clean. I would avoid on Holidays, seems the only complaints are when they are super busy.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Went there 3X in a week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've heard of this place but never made the effort to try it. My wife finally talked me to trying this place and it was awesome. Each time I went I tried to eat something different. For appetizers the maple leaf duck breast was amazing, I never knew this combo could be so good. When a place self proclaim that they have the best bread pudding, I was a bit skeptical but it is a must try. I don't even like bread pudding! They do have a policy of no reservations but you can call a few minutes early and put your name on the list. The only critique I have is the ventilation of the restaurant since throughout the whole place every now and then gets smoky. Service was great who we later found out was the son of the owner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blu817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a delight....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

As usual, asking the locals for the best place to eat is the key to a memorable meal.
Surrounded by all the usual restaurant chains we asked the cleark at the front desk of our hotel for a truly local or unusual place to eat. Glad that she recommended the Chef Point Cafe.

After you get past the Gas Station exterior, you find yourself inside a very comfortable restaurant. The service, food and ambience were top notch.

Would definitely recommend the Fried Green Tomatoes, the rack of lamb and the bread pudding. All were outstanding.

We will be back!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Homestyle Cooking and More”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We are visiting from California and really enjoyed eating here. Lots of menu choices. Large entree portions;however, artichoke appetizer and wines by the glass were skimpy. We definitely will return.

Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Point Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Chef Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing