We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Dos Brisas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jewel”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was an exquisite place to meet for an evening with our daughters. It was central to Bryan, San Marcos, and Katy. Well worth the drive to this elegant gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    10
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
85
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We recently spent one night celebrating our 30th anniversary. We were the only guests at the inn and felt like it. The staff was "ours" for the evening and made us feel very special. We arrived in time for our lunch which is included in the price. The chef and sous-chef came to our table and let us decide what we wanted for lunch given the meat choices available. They made our own dessert to order with the fresh dewberries that were gathered that morning. (Oh we had a wonderful dewberry mojito on arrival too). The casita had all the amenities mentioned with a pleasantly displayed tray of meat, bread,and cheese with a small bottle of bubbly. The terrace was very private even though the adjoining casita terrace is next to it-(since we were the only ones, can't comment on how private it would be otherwise). Enjoyed the golf cart which we used several times and the carriage ride (which is one of the activities included). We opted for the wine tasting class for our special occasion - having been to Napa - this was ever bit as enlightening. We were asked what types of wines we enjoyed and the wines selected were from Italy which we had never sampled before (also ones we could find available to buy). The host was very knowledgeable and gave us some wonderful food pairing tips. We had our own private dining on the terrace that evening since we were the only guests. Felt like the food was prepared especially for us. Everything was delicious - from the appetizer to the dessert. Our waiter who also doubled as the sommelier was attentive yet non intrusive. Wonderful way to top off our visit there. The continental style breakfast was delivered to our casita the next morning. This is a special occasion place in my opinion and measures up to all the European luxury hotels that we have stayed in. We always opt for a Relais and Chateaux hotel if there is one available.

Room Tip: We got a tour of one of the haciendas which are very nice and stand alone. The casitas have adjoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We first visited the Inn at Dos Brisas when it first opened a few years ago, intact we were the first group to have lunch on the terrace after it's opening! We've have been back many times since and will continue to return.

Our most recent stay, (and dinner) was April 14th. We started with lunch on the terrace with our two children and my in-laws. The staff (particularly Nicole) was wonderful with our children showing them the resident lizard who likes to come and sun himself near the patio, they made the children feel important and they also accommodated the children with kid friendly food options (nuggets, fresh fruit etc.) without being uppity about it. We of course dove into the exceptional lunch which is always an outstanding epicurean experience. The wine list... is incredible.

The kids and in -laws left after lunch, and we stayed on for an afternoon and evening to celebrate my husband's birthday. (In past years we have thrown private dinners in the wine room there as well as stayed there with other friends getting casitas as well). After an exceptional multi-course dinner with wines, we enjoyed a drink on the terrace and took our golf cart back to our casita. We were supposed to have fondue waiting in the room , which they forgot but we were so full from the dinner, that it didn't matter! The casitas are clean (although we found someone else's contact lens case in the bathroom drawer), they are large and comfortable but they could use an ironing board and iron (especially as the dinners are formal and it's nice to touch up clothes after traveling). The fireplaces in the room really make the casitas feel romantic and comfortable. Small touches like the meats and cheeses, champagne and coffee and teas in the room upon arrival are appreciated and, the use of the golf carts is a wonderful way to explore the property.

One thing that I did find unusual for a place of this caliber is that they consistently misspell our name on all items (welcome notes, menus, check out bills). We have been there several times, but it continues to happen. If you are doing to focus on guests to such a high standard, something like that should be given attention to detail and remain consistent.

The bill, walking away, is always high (our lunches $300-ish for 6 people, dinners anywhere from $300 - $500 for two of us, and the casitas is around $900 a night (our first stay, a few years ago it was $450 a night so the rates have increased dramatically). We live fairly close by and so we enjoy our trips to Dos Brisas and the food is, well truly remarkable. It rivals anything you would find in the very best Napa, New York or Parisian restaurant. The food is fresh, innovative, modern and exceptionally well put together.

If you cannot afford to stay the night, at least make a point of coming to eat dinner- you will not regret it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Dos Brisas for our 29th of February get away. We found the service to be excellent. The staff catered to our every need and were willing to do anytbing we asked of them. The food was excellent and plentiful. We enjoyed the "New York" five star resturant experience without having to travel all the way there. They were attentive to all our needs and made all activities available. We enjoyed the use of the golf carts to get around and explore the place. The staff couldn't have been any nicer -will recommend this place to family and friends

Room Tip: if you want a once in a lifetime experience stay in one of the new haciendas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosamond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston_Foodie, Owner at The Inn at Dos Brisas, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
You are so kind to have written a review. I look forward to seeing you both again. You were delightful.

Doug Bosch
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
823 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife and I love this place! It is a well hidden sanctuary far from any main road. Very romantic, accommodating, private and elegant. We stayed in early March when the weather is a bit cooler. Although the room rate includes a daily activity which can include horseback riding, skeet shooting or fishing, our activity of choice was to sit on our veranda and consume wine. The wine selection is incredible. Many great and familiar wines and many unknown wines to try.

Each room gets a golf cart for transportation around the property. Of course, hiking around is a great alternative. Very peaceful.

Haciendas have been added since we were last there. The Haciendas are about three times the size of the Casitas and include a plunge pool. All the rooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable. They are well spaced so you always feel secluded and private.

The owners and manager are very personable and stop to make sure that everything is perfect. If anything was amiss they would have certainly acted quickly and solved any problem. They were a pleasure.

In fact the entire staff is terrific. They were professional, helpful and cared about providing great customer service. The food is superb and made primarily from ingredients grown on the 300 acre property. Everything was fresh and well prepared. Some dished were works of art that we hated to destroy. But we did. We have been there before and are fixin to look for another date to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston_Foodie, Owner at The Inn at Dos Brisas, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. I was so delighted to have met you both, and look forward to seeing you again. Good luck in your travels. If you ever need someone to carry your luggage, you know where to reach me.

Doug Bosch
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Actually y'all we never dined here before, was recommended, the resort is an oasis. Luxury, as our friends had recommended it to us. Very accommodating with special requests. The restaurant staff made a big deal out of our celebrating our anniversary, personalized menus, very much appreciated. Wine pairing selections with tasting menu, exceptional; especially, since the wine pairing is was not mentioned and is in fact world class. The food was outstanding but the wine pairings really do standout. This was the perfect spot for a memorable evening. GM, she has a slight british accent, cocktail mistress, greeted us, with creative ice tea Mojitos, to die for, with fresh mojito mint from their own greenhouse. Service was beyond outstanding and you could see the service staff wanted to be as accommodating as possible, they went above a beyond all our needs; you are definitely paying for quality and not quantity. The only issue I have, their website should be updated. Exceptional attention, overall great experience and a great destination restaurant. We will be back again!

Room Tip: Quiet and perfect place to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston_Foodie, Owner at The Inn at Dos Brisas, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. After a challanging time getting used to our new hacienda residences, it appears that we are getting our ship righted again. You are so right about our website. It is old as the hills, and we have been working feverishly to get it rewritten. Unfortunately, one thing that was required was "hero imagery", which after our disasterous drought in Texas was hard to come by. Now that things are greening up, you can expect to see our new website revealed in May. Thanks again for your comments, and do come back.

Doug Bosch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My friend suggested we spend our birthdays here for a relaxing and quiet celebration. He had already been a couple months earlier and could not stop talking about the superb service and simple beauty that Dos Brisas offered. We were booked in the new master casitas. They had just been finished and upon arrival we were greeted with champagne poolside. Then the somliegh took us on golf carts to our casitas. They were very well appointed and great attention to detail was taken in the decor. Only there was a bit of confusion with the rooms and we were taken to the wrong ones a few times. We chalked it up to how new the casitas were and it was really no problem. A few hours later we had dinner which is an occasion all in its own. They grow everything for your meal on property and organically. The restaurant and bar is world class with some of the best food anywhere. Dinners were always magical and a truly euphoric experience. Breakfast each morning was also excellent though ours was noticeably late from the predetermined time (more than half an hour). We were lounging and enjoying breakfast and a worker walked right in to the pool area of our Casita and stated he needed to check something.This was no big deal because it was only my brother and I but this is more a romantic couples getaway. My friend was staying with his fiance in the adjacent casita and experienced a similar incident. The worker could have encroached on a intimate moment so I felt the need to mention it. I also mentioned that the phone in our casita didn't work as well as the TV and the issue was never resolved. We later learned that several features of the casita were not completed including a fountain. The activities were nice with a really relaxed feel and easy instruction from the helpful staff. We did pretty much all of them and they were all very enjoyable. The cooking class especially was truly memorable as we had the full attention of world class chefs for over an hour. We did a lovely grill class outside. Our class was postponed because our ingredients were being flown in!!Really though nothing is better than the simple joy of driving a golf cart around the extensive property. One morning the owner actually stopped and greeted us.The fall months especially are my favorite in Texas because you do not have the abrasive heat that accompanies summer. The rooms were very clean though several things were not replaced each time. I am sure if we had called the problem would have been resolved. Finally on our last day we were getting ready to leave and directly in front of our Casita was several work trucks, along with a small army of worker all formed up facing our Casita. My brother and I continued to pack and they just stood there anticipating our moments of departure. We joined our friends at their Casita for breakfast and called the concierge to see if they needed in our Casita. She apologized immediately and the workers dispersed a few hundred feet away. We had breakfast, packed up and headed out. We had not even pulled away and the workers marched towards our Casitas. This was a little upsetting because we felt rushed and unwelcome. I am pretty easy going but it even made me feel like they just needed us out to finish up the job. Overall the place was great with a few problems that I believe will be worked out. I think though For the amount you pay anything less than perfection should be unacceptable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
9.1 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
16.5 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Navasota
8.8 mi away
Best Western Inn of Brenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Navasota
10.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dos Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dos Brisas

Property: The Inn at Dos Brisas
Address: 10000 Champion Dr, Washington, TX 77833
Location: United States > Texas > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Inn at Dos Brisas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest of southern hospitality on your serene romantic getaway situated amidst rolling meadows, beneath the big blue skies of the Texas Hill Country at this Relais and Chateaux. After an action-packed day brimming with horseback riding, fishing and clay shooting, or a quiet escape full of yoga, couples’ massages and food and wine classes, guests from both ends of the spectrum come together to dine in the only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star restaurant in Texas. Our renowned restaurant features fresh produce picked just for you from our extensive certified organic gardens and greenhouses. The cuisine is artfully plated and expertly paired with wine from around the world, thanks to our in-house sommelier. Following dinner, stroll back to your opulent casita or hacienda, unwind by the fire or take a dip in your private plunge pool—all while enjoying the postcard-worthy vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Dos Brisas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dos Brisas Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing