We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but nice.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cameron Park Zoo

Cameron Park Zoo
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small but nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

The zoo is nice; nothing in comparison to larger cities, but for Waco it is nice. It is located next to Cameron Park in a wooded area. Go in the morning and enjoy the cool breeze otherwise you may not enjoy the Texas heat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Romtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    172
    36
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

It was a really nice park. I was smart enough to go during the cool of the day. Less pressure. Casual approach.

Helpful?
Thank Ted_Marlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Zoo Trip for All Ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I've spent many hours at the San Diego Zoos where my father was a donor. However, for pure enjoyment of a day with the family, the Cameron Park Zoo is high on the list of my zoos to visit. Everything is beautiful and the animals are always easy to see. The whole zoo can be walked easily in an hour but with the playgrounds and other fun things to do, my kids usually want to spend 3-4 hours. My 16 year old just told me the other day that she wants to go.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlessedMomof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zoo Members :o)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Smaller zoo where you can get a great view of all the animals. Large playground area (great for adults to rest). My favorite exhibit is the snapping turtle. The barn with nocturnal animals is fun and there are lots of snake exhibits. Newer orangutan exhibit is neat (you can walk in a large circle around it).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank WifeLaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Kid Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice selection of animals, clean, easy for the 2 yr old to see. All in all, a very nice zoo.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cameron Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing