We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1424 Bistro

1424 Bistro
Ranked #88 of 380 Restaurants in Waco
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "Waco's home for good food, wine and conversation" Not only is the food wonderful but 1424 offers a full bar. Now 1424 offers fresh seafood too!Hours of Operation: Tuesday-Saturday 5pm to 10pm and Sunday for Lunch 11am to 2pm and Dinner 5pm to 9pm!
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Chef is great, always knows what's fresh, and won't push something just to get it moved. Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    41
    19
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Consistenly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Have only tried the Greek dishes, but they have always been good. One of the few non-chain restaurants in Waco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CptJackDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A new pace to go in Waco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I are in Waco at least twice a year for the Annual Sessions of my fraternity. After years and years of eating at the same old restaurants, we decided to try this bistro located about 8 blocks from the Masonic Grand Lodge building.

We had considered visiting 1424 on a previous stay, but because I am limited in mobility, had decided not to deal with the parking. To my delight, we discovered that there was good parking on the property. It just can't be seen from the street.

The first item was our appetizer which was escargot in a sauce which was delicious. If you don't like extracting them from the shells, try it this way.My wife is a nut for scallops and to her delight, they have an Orange Vermouth Scallops entree that is really wonderful. I had the seafood plate that was great. It was a little pricey, but it keeps the Baylor babies out if there.

We do plan to start through the menu on our next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VEPGHP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been to 1424 both for lunch and dinner. With business associates, friends, and just with my wife. I have sat indoors and out. While outdoors is not scenic, it is enjoyable with pleasant background music and good service. Indoors, the atmosphere is quaint and comfortable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bsbost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“1424”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The menu is diverse, and the food is great. There are a few great wines on the wine list that I have tried, and I have not tried all of them, but the wine list looks pretty diverse.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1424 Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 1424 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing