We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, average food”

El Conquistador Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 384 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

After just a 5-10 minute wait, we were seated in a booth in the main dining area. It was at least another 10 minutes before the waiter come to take our drink order. The entrees were served with NO SILVERWARE and the waiter was no where in sight. We ate with fingers and he finally showed back up as we finished eating, We ordered dessert, including ice cream, and asked for silverware.
The dessert came as did a knife and fork, but no spoon for the ice cream. We ate the ice cream with a knife, as again, he was nowhere in sight. As another table was seated near us, we heard him tell them that he had a table of friends that he was serving on the other side of the restaurant, which explained his lack of attentiveness to his assigned section.

This service was very poor and we will not be in a hurry to go back..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerJazz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My son and I went this evening for the first time. We both enjoyed it. We weren't sure what to think with such mixed reviews. We sat in a large room with the bar on one end. There is a larger room to the back of the restaurant. There were several TVs with the Baylor men's basketball game on. We had about a five minute wait. We really liked the salsa. It seemed freshly made. We ordered the queso with beef which was good but nothing special. I had a Tex Mex plate with a cheese enchilada, 2 tamales, rice and beans. My son had the enchilada plate. Overall, we give it 4 out of 5 stars. The food was exactly what we expected and wanted. The sopapillas are free on the weekends according to our waiter. They were good but thicker than some other places. The service was good. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite Mexican Food place”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a mexican food place that does not pretend to be a cloth napkin eatery. The salsa is usually just right. It is made on site with fresh tomatoes etc. Sometimes it is hotter than other times, but it is always good. Don't order American food here-it will not be as good. Ted and his family run the place and they are dedicated to cooking excellent standard Mexican food. If you are looking for exotic Mexican food go to a Mexican Fusion place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best sour cream chicken enchiladas ever!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I were one of Ted's first customers back in the mid 70s while I was in law school. We had less than no money, but alway scraped together enough money to go to El Con a couple of times a month. After a few good menu items, I tried the sour cream chicken enchiladas. In the following 35 years, I have tried SCCE all over Texas and the SW.. None are better. We moved to East Texas, but never pass on a chance to stop at El Con.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pops A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“El Conquistador”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Food was typical Tex-Mex, nothing special. I was put off by the dingy look of the restaurant. It could use some cleaning up. The service was friendly.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank glo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Conquistador Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing