We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Diamondback's

Diamondback's
Ranked #25 of 380 Restaurants in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DiamondBack's is a fine dining establishment in downtown Waco specializing in hand-cut steaks, fresh seafood and a full sushi menu. We also offer happy hour every Monday to Wednesday from 4pm to 7pm and Thursdays from 4pm to 10pm.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Came for a date this past weekend. Since its only one of a handful of "fine dining places in town I was excited. My date and I were VERY disappointed. Its not the worst food I've had, but for the money it should have been a LOT better. The Appetizers were pretty good, the steak was tough, the lobster ok, but everything tasted bland and like it wasn't seasoned at all, including the sides. It would get a slightly higher resting if it was the price point if a Texas Roadhouse or something, but even Roadhouses food tastes way better. I would never go again unless it was for someones special occasion and they picked it, or they got a new owner/chef.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank planojane89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki B, Guest Relations Manager at Diamondback's, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your honest review and feedback. We are very disappointed and embarrassed to hear about your dining experience with us. We strive to serve delicious steaks, seafood and from-scratch sides, and it sounds like we fell short of these expectations with your meal.

We would like the opportunity to discuss your visit in detail so we can improve, as well as make things right. Please email us as many details about your meal as you can remember to diamondbackssocial@gmail.com, including the date and approximate time you dined with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“So Disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were in town for a wedding & had a reservation for Saturday night. We don't mind spending money when the food and service is great. I don't have anything good to say about this restaurant. My husband had a bone-in ribeye that wasn't edible. My steak was on a scale of 1-10, a 3. The prices that they charge are for a 5 Star Restaurant. We just returned from Croatia and had better steak on the Adriatic Sea which is known for it's seafood. Usually, I will give a restaurant another visit, as maybe they were having a bad night. We will not be returning again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki B, Guest Relations Manager at Diamondback's, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Denise, we are extremely embarrassed to hear about your meal with us on Saturday evening and would like to address this with you directly. Please email us at diamondbackssocial@gmail.com with as many details about your visit as you can remember so that we may look into your experience further.

DiamondBack's is a fine dining establishment and we believe in serving only the highest quality steaks. Your business and our reputation are very important to us and we hope you will provide us another chance.

If you're looking for a less expensive way to enjoy our atmosphere, we offer happy hour in the High Noon Saloon from 4-7pm Monday through Wednesday and 4-10pm on Thursdays. We also offer rotating nightly specials such as half price sushi and half price bottles of wine. These specials change frequently, so please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great place to meet friends for dinner or for appetizers and drinks. Great atmosphere. Perfect for an intimate dinner for two or a large party. Service is always great and so is the food!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry12186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki B, Guest Relations Manager at Diamondback's, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Sherry, thank you so much for the kind words! We look forward to seeing you again soon for happy hour or dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Rehearsal Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wonderful Party at Diamonback's. Great food, excellent service. Thank you Stuart for all your attention and detail to our rehearsal dinner. Looking forward to eating at the restaurant again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janicenacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki B, Public Relations Manager at Diamondback's, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words! We were honored to have been chosen for such a wonderful occasion and really enjoyed your group. We hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Unique Local Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Diamond Backs is purely Texas. Its decor and menu reflect the Lone Star State. Although the dishes are usually quite good, the prices have simply gone far too high...much beyond typical Waco prices. We no longer take out of town friends there as our bills are the hundreds of dollars.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wacotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki B, Public Relations Manager at Diamondback's, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and honest feedback! If you're looking for the same DiamondBack's experience but with less expensive bites, join us for happy hour in the High Noon Saloon from 4-7pm Monday through Wednesday and 4-10pm on Thursdays.

We also offer rotating specials, such as half price sushi on Thursday nights and half price bottles of wine on Tuesday nights. These specials are subject to change, so please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamondback's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing