We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst ever”

Catfish King of Waco
Ranked #149 of 380 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Waco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Still trying to figure out how they are staying in business. Slow service, food taste awful, and not so reasonable prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Texangirlwaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The catfish is fine, but don't eat the grilled shrimp.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our party ordered lunch specials, which were very reasonably priced and included a lot of food for the money. One was fried catfish only, one was fried catfish and chicken (a mountain of food), and one was grilled shrimp over rice. 2 of the 3 of us liked their food. The grilled shrimp however, was awful. I went back in line and ordered some catfish, and told the cashier about the shrimp. She told the cook, and I was not charged for the catfish, so that was a point in their favor. The catfish was good. We all had beans and cole slaw, and these were good. One other thing to note: the chairs sit too low for the tables. If I'm in the vacinity again, I would eat here, but I wouldn't go out of my way to come to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great food and service. The employees are so sweet and really take care of your every need. The managers get to know the customers and treat them like family. The managers and employees hold a special place in my heart as my mom and stepdad ate there often, my mom recently passed away and the managers and some employees attended her visitation, which meant a lot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Excellent fish and seafood. Premises could have been cleaner.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catlady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish King of Waco also viewed

 

Been to Catfish King of Waco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing