We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as ever”
Review of Cathay House

Cathay House
Ranked #227 of 392 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good as ever”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I've been going here for 20 years and the food and atmosphere have always been great. Keep up the great job! PS - love the won ton

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCtaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Used to be better”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I returned to Cathay House after a 15 year absence and found it to be less flavorful than I remembered. This could be just a change in taste rather than any change to the restaurant itself. The atmosphere was fine. The food was good, but not exceptional. Service was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I eat here weekly and the food is consistently good. The chicken rice soup is such a comfort food that we can't imagine eating here without it. Service is efficient, music is background and muted, decor is getting a little old but is still appropriate for the surroundings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimfromTexas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beats the self serve types”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I don't find Oriental food to be my favorite but if I am going to eat that type of food this is the only place to go. The food is always consistent and palatable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is pretty much your standard Chinese restaurant. We were hoping to find that unique restaurant that serves up food in it's own style but found that it's the same as all the other 'cut & past' Chinese food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank nat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathay House also viewed

 

Been to Cathay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing