We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a meal”

Olive Branch Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #35 of 384 Restaurants in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just a meal”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We love to find great local places. This one is local, but not great. I was put off by the tasteless, pre-shredded cheese -- the kind that comes in a bag -- on my salad. However, even though there is table service, the beverages are out on a bar for refills, which was nice.

The restaurant is in an old warehouse and has concrete floors. There is potential there for a great atmosphere, but the place needs some tidying up to get started on that. A very large group finished their meal while we were there, and one staff member re-set the area by scraping the furniture across the concrete floor. Ouch.

Our meal was OK, but when we came back through on our way home, we tried someplace else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onecentworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was great and had very nice service. We have eaten here twice and have been very pleased both times.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect bistro with perfect cupcakes!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Great coffee and cupcakes (probably the best in town). Soup was excellent but sandwiches could have used some more seasoning or something. The layout is kinda strange with cafeteria chairs and tables. Definitely had a vintage (or ancient) high chair for baby! Cute decor though and service was good too. Worth your time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alannrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustace, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good eating”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

very busy,pretty,well staffed. Had a large selection of food on the menu,and every plate was fresh,crisp and tasty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful cafe downtown, close to Baylor”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A great place for a casual meal. Soups, salads, sandwiches, lattes and desserts, delicious and reasonably priced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaylorMomInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Branch Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olive Branch Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing