We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dr Pepper Museum

Dr Pepper Museum
Ranked #11 of 62 things to do in Waco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A museum dedicated to the nation's oldest major soft drink - Dr Pepper! We offer three floors of exhibits featuring information about many different soft drinks, as well as a carefully curated selection of our massive soft drink memorabilia collection. Exhibits change regularly! You can visit our soda fountain and gift shop any time without paying admission. Photo ops outside the Museum include a Dr Pepper Green 1940s delivery truck, one of three original neon signs from the Mockingbird Plant in Dallas, and a hand-painted advertising sign original to the site. Of course the front of the Museum building itself is visitors' favorite photo location. We are a two block walk from Magnolia Market and the famous silos, and about half a mile from the newest restaurants including Torchy's Tacos and In-N-Out Burger.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

It was nostalgic, and pretty interesting. The bottle cap horse was covered up by another display, and that was slightly disappointing. The soda fountain was very tasty and reasonably priced as was the gift shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lkc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    289
    187
    58
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dr. Pepper Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was a fun visit, we really enjoyed seeing the collections of bottles and the vending machines. All around they have a treasure trove of soda inspired objects. I think the option to have a guided tour could be fun to give a richer story to all the items in the collections. Upon entering the tour you find yourself in what would be an old drug store with a soda fountain, the pharmacy counter (where an animatronic host gives a bit of history), and I think a cigar counter. It was not very well lit, it seems like a beautiful space that would set the tone of the visit perfectly, but it needs to be brightened up! There have to be some interesting back stories about them! I had no idea about Hot Dr. Pepper, that is one thing I learned.

In the room where the old vending machines are there were these "conversation bubbles" between a larger and smaller machine. The conversation as it turns out is between the mom and her little one wanting to show off their fancy features. I found it to be a fun find—I really liked the creativity of this and would like to see the exhibitions engage guests more or feel like they are having an experience with these collections. There were also soda themed gowns, the 7Up gown was fantastic! Something like that would be a fun cut out to have your picture taken "in".

Overall, I liked what they had to offer but there was something missing, perhaps some music or something to add to the ambiance or to energize the visit. This is not a subject that requires quiet reflection, why not have some fun? There's lots of great material to work with.

The gift shop has some unique items and many things that would be great gifts for the Dr. Pepper lover. (I live with one!)

The soda fountain was a nice treat, but I was disappointed they were not having more fun with it. I would have loved some sort of taste test, like Dr. Pepper made with Imperial Sugar vs. the normal store offering. I would bet most guests coming to the museum have a certain passion for soda, why not embrace that and wow folks!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank andreaw489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun way to kill a few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The Dr. Pepper museum was full of nostalgia. It was an enjoyable way for our family to spend a few hours during the heat of the day. The museum admission is a bit pricey, but the soda shop was reasonable. It's worth wandering through.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stop and Stretch Your Legs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very neat museum if you are passing through but don't go out of your way to see it. I enjoyed the nostalgia seeing the old signs, bottles and advertisements and the quirky things like a full size horse made from aluminum Dr. Pepper cans. They do have a diner style bar on the main floor that sells milkshakes and floats. Also a gift shop (The Dr. Pepper bbq sauce is delicious).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JDS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Not Impressed; needs some updates”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took our son here because he loves Dr. Pepper. He is 7 and did say he liked the museum, but we found it rather lacking. It's nice and clean, but there is nothing interactive at all. The displays are all behind glass and you just read the captions.

We thought they would have some type of tasting set-up to try the old fashioned soda fountain type of Dr. Pepper or at least some tasting of the various drinks that the company makes (7 up, Big Red, etc.). No such luck. I think something similiar to the way the Coke Museum does sodas around the world would really liven this place up.

When you pay to enter, you are given 2 tokens, but only for the adult tickets, not the kids. You can use the tokens for a 20% discount in the gift store, or you can get a free sample of soda in the soda fountain shop. We chose to use ours for samples and were tried Dr. Pepper and Ginger Ale. Both were made the old-fashioned way and were tasty. I'm just not sure why the museum can't give tokens for all "paid" admissions rather than just for the adult tickets. And, I still say it would be fun to have more of a tasting area set up to allow visitors to try the various sodas and then maybe purchase the ones they liked.

One area of the museum showed that Dr. Pepper makes (or made) Big Red and Big Blue. We'd never heard of Big Blue before. The display asked which you "liked" better--but did not allow any tasting. Instead, they had a "sniffing" station so that you can smell the various ingredients used to make these. Not very appealing and even my son (who was happy to be there) thought each of the ingredients just smelled bad.

I think with some modern tweaks, this museum could improve. Right now, it seems like a lot to pay for what you get when you visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dr Pepper Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing