We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Chico Waco”

El Chico Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #91 of 383 Restaurants in Waco
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“El Chico Waco”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Eating out at El Chico was very pleasurable. I love the food and was highly satisfied with the service. I advice anyone who is thinking of eating here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradlee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
218 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Chips, salsa, and queso was probably the better than the enchiladas I had. The red sauce was salty and tasted burnt. Maybe that's how the sauce is supposed to be but it's the typical chain restaurant in this area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Keep driving to the next restaurant!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The service is good but the booths are dirty. The food is not good at all, in fact it is terrible.
The food feels like they opened up a frozen patio dinner and put it on a plate for you!!
I think patio dinners are better actually. Don't waste your time or money at this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROSEAUSTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Normal”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Its normal when we are traveling thru Waco to stop at El Chico if its anywhere near meal time.
This habit dates back probably 20 years are so. It is not the best Mexican Food in the world, it is just Good. It is always good. The staff has always been pleasant and friendly.
For the traveler it has clean restrooms and if your pulling a travel trailer there is plenty of parking. Nice Place, give it a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandaidKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Love!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I enjoy eating at El Chico when I come to Waco....great service and great food. The servers seem to always want you to enjoy your dining experience.!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cthomsonsfnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chico Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Chico Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing