We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was fine”

Waco Mammoth National Monument
Ranked #2 of 63 things to do in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mansfield, TX
1 review
“it was fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

It was small, not much to it. Glad we didn't make a special trip to Waco just to go there. But very cool to see fossils where they were actually found.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank mom_of_3Mansfield_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    166
    28
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great break from Dallas - Austin that brings the ice age alive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I'd never heard of this place until yesterday. The location was a well kept secret for many years and apparently they're still keeping it a secret...

About 3.5 miles off of I-35, almost no turns so very easy to find, big sign right where you turn off the main road.

The welcome center is tiny, several staff, all very friendly. Affordable entry fee. We were late for the scheduled 1/2 hour tour, but no one else had showed up so they just took us, by the time we had got 1/2 way with the tour. 2 other families had joined.

The tour guide did a tremendous job of swinging from some pretty good science to keeping the kids engaged "Who saw Ice Age the Movie?!" So it was interesting for everyone.

The pavilion where they've built up the bones is fascinating. Right now, there are just the bones in the ground and paintings, but more importantly the knowledge of the staff really brought this place alive. Can't wait to see how they grow out Phase 2.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank hnewburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

A nicely done exhibit of a paleontological dig. The site held the bones of a "nursery" group of baby mammoths and some other creatures. The tour guide was informative, but did not know the answer to questions that went a little beyond what we were looking at. Not hard to find.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank NYt0AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
365 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Waco Mammoth Site - Waco's best kept secret.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had been through Waco a million times and never heard of this site. We bought a day trip book and found it there. It's a small park run by the City of Waco and Baylor University that has an office (with show and information) where you begin your walk to the site. Go with a free tour guide as they add much more to the experience! We learned a lot about the Waco area and especially the large mammals that used to live there. Again, can't stress enough how you need to go with a tour guide.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well Worth It If You Like Dinosaur Bones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stopped here using Trip Advisor's "near me now" mobile search. It is not too far off from I35, which is a great quick break to learn while you stretch. The tour was pretty cool. We had a couple of "oh really? I didn't know that." Good job Waco!

Helpful?
2 Thank travcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waco Mammoth National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Waco Mammoth National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing