We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Old Fashioned BBQ In Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michna's

Michna's
Ranked #152 of 378 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Old Fashioned BBQ In Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for fall of the bone, finger licking good BBQ, THIS IS THE PLACE! The owners are such nice people and make you feel welcomed from the moment you walk in the door to the time you leave! I love their butter potatoes and Tammy is always so sweet to throw all the "fixins" to my potatoes so they are more like a heavenly baked potato! The brisket is another of my favorites, it is always tender, juicy, and has the smoked flavor that reminds me of how my dad cooks it!

Helpful?
Thank ZUHAPPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looks cool, tastes meh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Ribs, corn, sausage, and dumplings are ok. Place looks very interesting. But buffet looked scary (sorta nasty), cramped near register, chicken had good smoked flavor...but unfortunately was very dry. Chicken in dumplings tasted strange. Homemade bread was ok, but saw no cornbread even though there was a sign for it. Had to ask for the pecan pie..I should have passed. Seems like the typical Waco problem...people keep going back either because of nostalgia or because there are just so few decent places to go. I want it to be better but it just isn't.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dad_Son_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Q and good folks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

First time in Michna's and I was welcomed and treated like a regular! The food was good and well priced. The atmosphere was an old fashioned place with nostalgic charm with pictures of John Wayne and Clint Eastwood on the walls. My kind of place. And the best of people!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
450 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We enjoy trying various BBQ joints around Texas... and Michna's rates right up there. They have seriously good BBQ... smoky, moist, and flavorful. Their sides and desserts are above-average, and their staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful meal there and will recommend it to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fbglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
378 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lunch might be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Average buffet but would not recommend it for dinner. Lunch might be better and fresher. Very friendly service in an old store atmosphere.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WCUcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michna's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing