We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, SUPER NICE staff, clean rooms - don't overlook it!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnuson Hotel Waco
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Waco
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value, SUPER NICE staff, clean rooms - don't overlook it!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Don't overlook this hotel. I'm one that prefers interior entrances but at the cost this was the best one for our budget. We were well pleased - rooms are older BUT clean, comfortable beds, AC and heat unit works well, and the staff at check in and check out was incredibly friendly and helpful! Didn't get to breakfast but it is available. The hotel sits at the road but we had no issues with traffic noise. Parking lot was well lit. Great room for a great value!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itisanewseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My family of four spent one night at this hotel preceeding a visit to Baylor University. The hotel was very close to campus and convenient to the freeway and nearby restaurants. The reservations and front desk staff were very pleasant to deal with. Both front desk clerks were students at Baylor and were very forthcoming with help and advice to nake the most of our brief visit.
The room was simple but the beds and the temperature were all excellent for a restful night sleep in spite of the proximity to the freeway which resulted in more noise than we would have preferred. Breakfast was simple and fine. We would certainly stay here again. The price was excellent.

Room Tip: Request rooms at the opposite end from the office and on the far side of the freeway for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSRDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The room was clean, nice and quiet, bed was comfortable. Wired and WIFI internet. TCM, FOX News and several other channels to chose from on T.V.

Easy access from the freeway. Located in a 'nice area.' Spare breakfast, shut down at 9:30. Several eateries in walking distance.

The staff was professional and attentive. I'd recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

On our way to San Antonio we stopped in Waco and found the Hotel close to the Highway. Unfortunately our room was in the front and the noise of the traffic was nerve-wracking. Additionally the beds are very hard and the room smelled strange. In relation to the price you will find better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waco hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I don't know how I found this place, but I'm glad I did. I paid $60 bucks with tax for a double queen non smoking room. When you include the super friendly front desk with the fact that the room was only $60 bucks for two queen beds, you have a good start. Then, the AC worked great, icy cold over night. All outlets worked, all utilities worked, shower was fine, plenty of hot water. This is a great place to stop, even for a little more money.

Only negative is the breakfast was very underwhelming. I would hope for a just a bit more selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexAggie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had car trouble, ended up very tired and trying to find a hotel that would allow us with our 5 lb. Chihuahua to stay without charging us an arm and a leg because of our small dog. We were so happy to find this place because it was very clean and comfortable and only charged us an extra $10.00 for our dog. Front desk clerk was very nice and considerate. Room was clean, comfortable and I would compare it to a $100.00 a night room in Waco but total charge was just under $70.00. It is a small hotel but we would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Waco who would like a very clean and comfortable place to spend the night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael60956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Some friends offered us Baylor football tickets on the spur of the moment and we decided to go. All the other hotels in town were booked so we tried Magnuson. I was pleasantly surprised. It's basic, rooms are smaller, but everything's clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and courteous and the rate was very attractive. The only minus was limited parking space. The hotel was full that night and I suspect some guests who arrived after us had to park on the street or in the lot of the fast-food place next door. A nice find, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back to avoid traffic noise from I-35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Callmephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waco hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Waco - Baylor
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Waco
1.5 mi away
Hilton Waco
Hilton Waco
#7 of 30 in Waco
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waco
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Waco
Residence Inn Waco
#8 of 30 in Waco
180 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Waco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Waco

Property: Magnuson Hotel Waco
Address: 1430 I-35 S., Waco, TX 76706 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Waco offers guests an outdoor pool, free Continental breakfast served from 6:30 am to 9:30 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, fax/copy service and free parking with room for large vehicles. Unfortunately, pets are not accepted at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Waco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Waco
Waco Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing