We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Oriental Restaurant in Texas”
Review of Summer Palace

Summer Palace
Ranked #98 of 386 Restaurants in Waco
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Oriental Restaurant in Texas”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I visit my grandkids in Waco Texas twice per year. A trip would not be complete without going to Summer Palace oriental buffet with my daughter, son-in-law, and 3 grandkids ages 15, 13, and 8. Went again in July 2013. The variety is HUGE; not only dozens of oriental dishes, but also American Fare that satisfies my picky-eater-grandkids: freshly sliced ham, pizza, freshly baked rolls, cream cheese fried won-tons, salad and fruit bar, ice cream sundae bar, and large variety of freshly prepared desserts. I LOVE oriental food and can never decide what to order at a sit-down restaurant. The large variety here is so delicious, authentic, and fresh. The price is very reasonable...the bill for the 6 of us comes to $60 with free prompt refills. I can't wait to go again in December 2013. .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fair buffet, really good wonton soup”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

For a small town Asian buffet the food is alright, average compared to the Dallas area Asian buffets. However, the wonton soup is really good - they keep the wonton separate from the soup so they stay together, never soggy. The rest of the food like the beef and broccoli is only OK. The service was polite however the waiter was dull and definitely did not want to be there. If you are in Waco, skip this place and look for something better

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NavyDallasite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“consistently good food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We love to eat at the Summer Palace in Hewitt. You don't have to dress up-it's come as you are. The crab legs are my favorite. My husband likes the fresh oysters. There are at least half a dozen different shrimp recipes used and they are all delicious. The pepper steak and chicken with large.juicy mushrooms are my favorite oriental entrees. The salads are fresh with a good Caesar dressing. There are also fresh fruits. The tapioca pudding and almond cookies are usually my dessert choices. Sometimes I like the ice cream from a self service machine, then I add chocolate sauce and oreo crumbles. When I'm really hungry, this all-you-can-eat buffet has plenty of healthy and delicious choices. I'm never disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Franksmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
356 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good Chinese buffet”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice array of food choices. Could restock certain items more frequently. Good soups and shrimp usually. Good frog legs and crawfish. Service usually good re refills and cleaning away plates. Nothing special but a good buffet for Waco.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Chinese”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A great place for the family. The Woodway retaurant is very clean and the service is great. There are many choices in Chinese and American food so everyone can enjoy it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank glo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Palace also viewed

 

Been to Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing