We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cotton Palace
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Waco
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
182
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcupcakesbreakfast tablebreakfast was delicioussun roomjetted tubwonderful storiesbear cavedecorated beautifullygreat hostsspacious bathroomsitting areaevery morninggirls tripcommon areascarriage houselittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 185 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent a wonderful night with Becky & Dutch, returning as a family to Waco (the Homeland to a couple of Baylor alumni). We came with no agendas or schedules...just a quick getaway from Dallas. The Cotton Palace delivers in every way...hospitality, comfort, location, ambience, and then there's the fabulous breakfast! The attention to detail and the Waco welcome made us feel like we were at home, but we were perfectly pampered. Definitely worth a trip!

Room Tip: My favorite is Emily's room, but if you're traveling with more than 2 people, you might consider Eren's Suite or Matt's Attic.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottonPalace, Owner at The Cotton Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

We love to host our fellow Baylor alums! And we also love to share our love of Baylor with those who went to other great universities. Thanks for coming our way and your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

So enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Cotton Palace. Excellent food and accommodations. Our room was 2nd floor, front of the house, but still very quiet and well appointed. Sitting area for 5 rooms upstairs very cozy. Loved the sun porch downstairs for early mornng coffee, as well. The waiter-in-training, as he calls himself, was wonderful. 12 people came together for meals and left as friends, great experience.

Room Tip: Next time we will get a room with sitting room extension for couple privacy, but not because of any deficiency in the open areas.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graniblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottonPalace, Owner at The Cotton Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

I really like what you said about everyone leaving as "friends" - that's the way we always feel - and we are so blessed at The Cotton Palace to have made hundreds of wonderful "friends". Hope to see you again soon in our great town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I highly recommend staying at The Cotton Palace, you won't be disappointed. We spent a week in Waco on business and enjoyed staying in Matt's Attic on the 3rd floor. It was quiet and private. We enjoyed getting to know Becky over breakfast each morning. She was accommodating of both our dietary needs and our schedule for the week. She cooked delicious gluten free breakfasts for us and even provided a treat to go! By far the best place to stay in Waco, if not Texas!

Room Tip: Matt's Attic has a bedroom, fridge and sitting room for additional space.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsElectric2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here whilst on a visit to Baylor University. I have never stayed in a nicer place. Everything and I mean everything was absolutely superb. There is simply no comparison between a soulless chain hotel and the wonderfully personal Cotton Palace. If it costs you a little more to stay here, it is absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb choose any.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottonPalace, Owner at The Cotton Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your trip to Texas and The Cotton Palace. Will be thinking of you as I drink my "Oxford tea" this afternoon - what a thoughtful gift!!! Hope you might have had a chance to visit The Armstrong Browning Library (the stained glass windows are extraordinary) on the Baylor campus - but if you didn't, maybe you can see it next time you come to the states.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Best experience away from home we've ever had. Such a wonderful family, beautiful home, incredible heartfelt service surpassing anything anyone could teach an Inn Keeper. This kind of quality service only comes from within the fabric a very special family. We can't wait to go back! All of the rooms were beautifully decorated, men- don't worry- not over done, you will feel comfortable. Common area upstairs had delicious never- ending coffees, teas, waters and fresh cookies.. ( something that we took full advantage of). Breakfast was full service dining, delicious and homemade. Best part was the conversations with the hosts which were warm, gracious, humorous and loving. We stayed in the Attic, as we took our son to visit Baylor. Very roomy and comfortable. Host, Dutch, is a (somewhat retired) Baylor Baseball Coach. He had wonderful insights for us regarding Baylor which was very helpful. We miss this family already!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottonPalace, Owner at The Cotton Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Kathy~
Thank you for the nice comments! We have had a run of California guests these last few weeks - so happy they have all left central Texas with a favorable impression. Hope your son enjoyed his visit to the Baylor campus - we would love to see him choose Baylor to continue his education even though it is a little far from home. If he does - we would hope that he would do as our other guest's Baylor students have done - consider The Cotton Palace - their home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews