We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try Something new”
Review of Rudy's

Rudy's
Ranked #7 of 384 Restaurants in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just north of San Antonio, at the edge of the Texas Hill Country, sits the small community of Leon Springs. Founded in the 1800s by Max Aue, Leon Spring's cityscape changed when Max's son, Rudolph, opened a one-stop gas station, garage, and grocery store. Bar-B-Q was added to the operation in 1989, and Rudy's "Country Store" and Bar-B-Q has been serving up tasty food ever since. The same original recipes that built Rudy's Leon Springs' reputation are now available throughout the Southwest. Our pits are 100% wood fired with oak, a slower burning wood than the mesquite used by others. Along with time and oak, we cook with a dry spice that ensures each plate of Rudy's Bar-B-Q is perfectly ready for you. Apply some of our famous "Sause" and dinner is served.
Cat Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Try Something new”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Rudy's are now branching out all over Texas, worth the stop for some of the BEST BBQ around. Great set up on ordering and the prices are great, easy ordering, fast service TEXAS Style and nice selection of sides. ONLY thing I would change would be to have a better (well they have none) selection of Greens..........would like to see a salad and or salad bar.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rose6Ranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    108
    29
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best BBQ in town”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What can I say..the brisket melts in your mouth! We love this place, family friendly, well priced, and delicious!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank aewerner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Picnic indoors with basic food”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Picnic tables, get your own drink and clean up your own mess. Very cool place, no bar area so if you want a beer you have to wait in the line again to pay for it while your food gets cold. The brisket was average to good, sides were all good, (green chili stew, potato salad pinto beans, coleslaw.) the baby back ribs were absolutely the worst I have ever had. Pitiful! I am a huge rib guy and I'm not too picky because I know they are tricky to get right but these ribs were horrible. Tough and tasted like cardboard. Go here and enjoy the rest of the menu and enjoy the great guys behind the counter but leave the ribs where they are.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you're a barbeque fan, you must check out Rudy's. It's almost worth going just to smell the smokey meats being cooked! It's on our list of mandatory stops when visiting our student down at Baylor! Nothing fancy, just great high quality barbeque and fixins'. I recommend the wet brisket on the list of many choices you can try. They have picnic tables and long tables with folding chairs, red and white checked table clothes. Casual, friendly atmosphere perfect setting for your meal. We even had one of the managers come over to make sure everything was great. Since we are "northerners," he explained how we could order online and have their great meats shipped to us. He even explained the process and where they ship from. Been here a few times now and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Once you learn how to order, you'll enjoy good BBQ”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Be prepared: You'll be greeted at the door by the smell of cooking smoke, and it'll stay with you for the rest of the day. The ordering process was a bit complex for a first timer (pick your side from the fridge or the rack behind you before you approach the cashier) who didn't want to be "that guy" who slowed up the line over potato salad, but the price was right.

Excellent pulled pork, and the Rudy's BBQ sauce is a fantastic touch. As previous reviews have said, you're basically in a barn, which is the perfect atmosphere for some good BBQ. Next time I'm in Waco, I'm swinging through and trying the brisket.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rudy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing