We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a loooonnnnngggg night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Waco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Waco
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
dallas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“a loooonnnnngggg night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

During the daylight hours, the room was satisfactory. The layout was great; the living area with the fireplace was inviting. It was the night that was the problem. The frequent trains were LOUD. Bright light from the street could not be blocked out by current window treatment. My bed mattress felt like an inflatable air mattress. The whistling of wind could be heard through the window. Guests on the floor above could be heard walking about, opening drawers and using the restroom. My friend was up several times throughout the night trying to adjust the room temperature--apparently would get extremely cold, then not in that bedroom. Not exactly a restful night for either of us.

The desk staff were pleasant. The cleaning staff were pleasant. The breakfast area appeared to be utilized by many guests and it was pleasant, as well.

I would only recommend this hotel if you are an extremely sound sleeper.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank boxerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    39
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
31
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed here for 5 days. The decor was dated but clean, which is most important to me. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a full kitchen that was well stocked with cooking items. The breakfast was AWESOME for a hotel breakfast. Everyday they had hot eggs and meats, cereals, bagels, toast, fruit, yogurt, coffee and juices. The woman who attends the breakfast bar is a hooot! She makes a point to welcome you and say good morning to EVERYONE that comes for breakfast. She was a highlight of our stay, and did her job well. Oh and make sure you visit the Dr. Pepper Museum a few blocks away. It was fun and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlycocunut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

We have just returned from a 1-night stay at the Residence Inn Waco. Even though it was just one night, we were treated like first-class guests. We had booked the room with our Marriott Rewards points and got a Studio 1 King room and it comfortably fit 4 people. As on the website it says we get "Luxury Linens you Deserve". No kidding!!! They were awesome! Major kudos to Karen, the hostess who works at the front desk. We already have reservations at his hotel again!

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — the irritated night manager, no porte cache
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UsuallyHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

Fine hotel in Waco that was in the perfect location for my business trip to Baylor University. Clean bedroom and bath, full kitchenette, strong wireless internet connection, and easy access and parking were greatly appreciated. Close by to many stores along Waco's route 77 service road, including an H.E.B. Supermarket which offered a variety of cheap seafood to take back to the Residence and prepare cheaply and easily in the kitchenette. The only negative-- cleaning staff needs to make sure that the dishes left in the dishwasher by departing guests, whether it was turned on or not, were actually cleaned. Otherwise, a great deal all around.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty dishes in dishwasher from previous guest
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

We have stayed in the Waco Residence Inn many times and have always been very happy; however, this time, it was not quite up to it's usual standards.

The positives:
The area is safe, and the parking is very good.
The rooms are spacious, and the bed was very comfortable.
The snacks available for purchase are better than most Residence Inns.
The breakfast was very good.

The negatives:
Our room, 1 bedroom, smelled like mildew. Since we were only staying one night, I did not complain. To give them the benefit of the doubt, maybe they would have switched our room if I had complained.
The exercise room was dirty, cups and towels lying about, and the elliptical machine was broken.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, N.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

I moved in to the Residence Inn and fully expected to stay the full length of my long term stay there. But, after a couple of months of enjoying a hot meal in the evening, they stopped serving pasta, salads, hamburgers, pizza, etc. and put out a new 'social experience' which was cheez-curls, pop corn and pretzels. After a huge bruhaha over the change, the hotel just quit putting anything out. The district manager came down and tried to convince some of the guests that the pretzels cost more than the pasta and this was an improvement to the hotel's ammenities. I think he should run for office with a line of bull like that. I also think that if they are going to cut back on the ammenities, they should reduce their room rates. They said this was a corporate mandate. Wrong again. This is not a corporate property. It's a franchise. So it's the owner that made the change, in order to improve his margins. I moved to Hotel Waco, where they have a free hot breakfast, hot meals to purchase in the in house restuarant in the evenings, a nice lounge with a bar and no surprises.

  • Liked — House keeping did a great job and were very friendly
  • Disliked — They quit serving hot meals in the evening.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FEMER_MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

We went to Waco recently on a house hunting trip as we will move there soon for my new job. We are extremely particular about where we stay regarding the cleanliness of rooms, quality of food and service and noise level around our accommodations. We went to Residence Inn based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor.

I must say that we could not be more pleased. In a city that seems somewhat run down, at least along the interstate corridor, the Residence Inn was surprisingly nice. The staff was VERY accommodating and helpful in response to questions we had about the area and where to look for housing. The rooms were very comfy and well appointed.

The rooms were immaculate, and in our two nights stay we were never awakened by other guests, annoying people with loud speakers in their cars, or highway noise; as is all too often the case at other accommodations. We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which has two seperated and doored bedrooms, a living room, dining area and full kitchen with all utensils. It was more than enough room for five of us and an infant. The price (220/night) seemed high at first, but it is actually quite reasonable given that a merely *decent* hotel would charge around 100/night per room, and we needed two rooms.

The breakfast was AMAZING. We don't even eat that well at home! They had various yogurts, fruit, biscuits and gravy, french toast, waffles, pancakes, eggs, sausage, pastries, various milks and juices, and more!

Additionally, they serve a free light dinner on weeknights. When we were there they had BBQ briscuit sandwiches with cheese hashbrowns. Surprisingly, the briscuit was delicious and not at all "second-rate". It was as good as anything you'd have paid for at a restaurant.

There is also a convenience store IN the hotel, with various toiletries, drinks, snacks (including pints of ice cream), frozen dinners etc.

Not only was this a great stay in Waco, but it sincerely was the best hotel in its class that we have stayed in ANYWHERE.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Food, Low Noise Level
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SparkyJamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Waco - Baylor
0.3 mi away
Hilton Waco
Hilton Waco
#7 of 30 in Waco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Waco
Courtyard Waco
#11 of 30 in Waco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waco, Texas
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco North
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco
Comfort Suites Waco
#10 of 30 in Waco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Waco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Waco

Property: Residence Inn Waco
Address: 501 S. University Parks Drive, Waco, TX 76706-1051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Waco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Waco
#5 Business Hotel in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Waco 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The downtown extended stay hotel in Waco, TX offers an ideal location near Baylor University and the Waco Convention Center. Our pet-friendly hotel is minutes from many area Waco businesses including L-3 Communications, The Dwyer Group and Providence Health Center. Nearby attractions includes the Waco Mammoth Site, Richland Mall and Mayborn Museum. Located off of I-35, the renovated hotel offers all the comforts of home with full kitchens and separate living areas in each suite. Stay connected everyday with our free Wi-Fi and never worry about your first meal of the day with our free breakfast. The Residence Inn Waco offers a 24 hour fitness facility, laundry room facility, business center and indoor pool with spa tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Waco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waco Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing