We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Waco University Area
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Waco
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at this Super 8 on our way to Fredericksburg for one night. I guess I can't complain too much about the hotel itself, because it was super cheap - so basically you get what you pay for. Nothing terribly fancy, but not filthy either. The hotel itself looked like it hadn't changed since it first opened its doors, so don't expect anything modern or updated.

Noise is a factor if you are a light sleeper, as this hotel is literally right on I-35. You will hear large trucks and cars passing at all hours of the night. The only saving grace is that the air conditioner seemed to drown out some of that noise, but still, it's not a peaceful location. It also doesn't seem like an overly nice area to be wandering around in at night.

The girl at the front desk who checked us in seemed less than thrilled to be at work and was super annoyed that we and the customer behind us, interrupted her personal phone call. After she began to help us, another man walked in so she picked the phone back up and said in a hushed, annoyed voice, "I'll have to call you back." Sorry for the inconvenience? Anyway, I don't recall her name but I'm pretty sure she had red hair.

Breakfast was standard fair for a hotel this size - waffle maker, ceral, packaged pastries, yogurt, brown bananas. Pretty typical.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8waco1, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Waco University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We are pleased that you stopped at Super 8. I will have a talk with who was working that is not the treatment we like to give our quests.
Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Waco University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 287 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank RobertN78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8waco1, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Waco University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank aaires
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8waco1, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Waco University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8waco1, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Waco University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Myself and another artist were traveling home to Nebraska after SXSW at 2AM on Sunday Morning. We were so tired after 7 days of performances and promo we only made it one hour outside of Austin before we needed sleep. The front desk was very polite and gave us a decent rate with a late check out since we arrived at 3AM. Place was clean and had a coffee maker which we used to make Ramen Noodles. We slept so well we woke up late, left so quickly I left all my clothes and laptop bag with over 2k in equipment in it. Didn't even notice until Wed. The manager Diana informed me their cleaning people had turned it in. After setting up shipping with FEDEX she personally made sure it got me. The contents of that bag were not only expensive, but had my hard drives, jump drives, cameras, memory cards and more. Things I could not replace. I will stay again even if I don't need too!

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor. Was grand.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHooligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8waco1, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Waco University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for staying with us here at Super 8. It is great guest like you that really makes our jobs enjoyable. Will be looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8waco1, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Waco University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank RobertN78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8waco1, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Waco University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waco hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco North
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Waco
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Waco - Baylor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Waco
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near University
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco
Comfort Suites Waco
#10 of 30 in Waco
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Waco University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Waco University Area

Address: 1320 South Jack Kultgen Freeway, Waco, TX 76706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Waco
Price Range: $47 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Waco University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 Waco, home of Baylor University. Ideally located between Dallas and Austin, our interior corridor hotel is easily accessible from I-35. Kick back and relax in our rooms offering Free High Speed Wireless Internet. A complimentary SuperStart Breakfast that includes hot items such as biscuits and gravy, boiled eggs and waffles is available every day from 6am - 9am. A Business Center, Free Daily Newspaper and 24 Hour Coffee is located in the lobby. Free Pass to Golds Gym, located nearby. Downtown Waco, Shopping, Restaurants and all Area Attractions are within minutes from our convenient location. Stay with us and you will see that our hotel in the Waco University area is truly a destination Super 8. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Waco University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Waco University Hotel Waco
Super Eight Waco
Super 8 Hotel Waco
Waco Super 8
Waco Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing