We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They thought of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Waco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“They thought of everything”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

If a hotel is brand new, or fairly new, then they better have thought of everything. And when I say "thought of everything" I mean take into account all the gripes and advancements that the modern traveler seeks and requires from a hotel.
This Waco Hampton Inn passes MANY of my standards:
1.) Ample electrical outlets - easily accessible and not a treasure find behind a desk, end table or dresser/television stand. The bedside lamps each have two outlets on them. That's four bedside electrical outlets. Huge props!
2.) Extensive, "free" breakfast spread. I know, nothing is free, but be smart enough to hide the costs in the room rate, so you're not sticking it to the guests for powdered scrambled eggs and some pastries - and this Hampton Inn has done that. Good spread of hot dishes - said powdered eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage or bacon, the obligatory waffle maker, and an assortment of pastry and breads, oatmeal and fresh fruit. Good coffee.
3.) It seems incredibly petty in the big scheme of things, but it makes a difference when there are front desk personnel at the desk, you walk in - but have already checked in and don't need any assistance - and the people just look up and say hello and smile. It's not a lot to ask. My self esteem is doing fine, but when you travel around you find that it's unbelievably rude when front desk people bury their heads into their monitors and completely ignore people coming in. Even when I don't need anything, it's just nice to know that someone is paying attention and giving a darn, and not appearing to be checking Facebook or playing Farmville.

With this hotel so new the sheet and towels have no mysterious odors that I noticed, the floors were clean, the whole place neat and tidy. In a shopping mall neighborhood with a handful of restaurants nearby. Good location, good place, run well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletch32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are excited to hear that our staff made your stay more pleasant. Here at Hampton Inn & suites Waco/South, we pride ourselves on attention-to-detail & Satisfying our guests. Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Waco/South, and we hope to have the oppurtuntiy to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    130
    37
    31
    9
See reviews for
266
131
38
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tatum, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel 4 times in the last month and will continue to lodge there when in Waco, Texas. From the super friendly greeting when you walk in to the great breakfast in the morning, it is an experience you will want to enjoy time after time. There are good restaraunts and shopping just a short drive (or walk) away.

Room Tip: I always get a room on the higher floors because it is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the time you spent writing your thoughts about our hotel. We were pleased to hear that you were happy with your visit to our property and that our staff made your stay more enjoyable. We hope in the future we have another oppurtunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

On my last stay at this hotel, I was greeted by the front desk saying "Check out the orange juice." Well, it just so happened, upon my previous stay, I had commented about the taste of the orange juice for breakfast. They remembered this and took action. The manager personally checked the quality of the juice. Needless to say, the orange juice is now great.

Sounds like a little thing, but it is the little things that make hotels a great place to stay. The Hampton Inn & Suites South in Waco, Texas is as awesome as their staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the hotel, and taking the time to fill out yet another survey. We love having you here, and we take pride in making guest happy. Even if it's just a little thing like orange juice. I glad we could get the problem corrected. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatum, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed at this Hampton several times in the last few weeks on business and from check-in to check-out the experience has always been top shelf. It was booked up the last time I stayed in Waco and had to get another hotel and the experience was lacking in comparison to this hotel. The breakfast's at Hampton's are always something to look forward to. Definitely a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your past stays with us. We strive hard to be "top shelf" and provide our guest with the best stay possible. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the hotel and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Upon arrival the staff is very friendly, asked on various occasions if I was finding everything ok. Provided yummy chips&salsa, beer & wine on arrival. Breakfast was original with bagel breakfast pizzas. Our room was by the elevator, but the room was still quiet!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Raul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the guest reception and our complimentary breakfast in the morning. We are also pleased to hear your stay was free from elevator noise and foot traffic. Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts about our hotel. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great breakfast, every option imaginable was available!! Nice, immaculate rooms as usual. Staff friendly and welcoming. We never have bad experiences with this chain!! The location was not easy to find on MapQuest, but that wasn't the hotel's fault of course.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank leslee_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff; it was our pleasure to be at your service! We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope we have an opportunity to serve you again soon!
Google Maps has better and more accurate directions when trying to find the Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am a regular guest at your facility and have been for some time. Not sure what has happened but quality of Breakfast and complimentary reception have dramaticlly decreased over the past 6 mos. The very things that encouraged my extended stay are the very things that are now driving me away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sawanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent experiences. I want to personally apologize that the complimentary breakfast and guest reception has not been meeting your expectations.

A good breakfast in pleasant surroundings is part of our promise to you. I apologize that this was not your experience. You can be confident that we will follow-up with your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you are.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waco hotels
2.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Waco
4.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Waco - Baylor
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waco South
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Waco, Texas
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Waco
Comfort Suites Waco
#10 of 30 in Waco
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South
Address: 2501 Marketplace Dr, Waco, TX 76711-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Waco
#1 Family Hotel in Waco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waco
#2 Business Hotel in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Waco hotel provides easy access to the Cameron Park Zoo, the Old Suspension Bridge over the Brazos River and Lake Waco. Baylor University and numerous Waco companies are just a short drive away.Make yourself at home in one of our 123 guest rooms and suites featuring king-sized or queen-sized beds, free internet, and complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Waco South
Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South Hotel Waco
Hampton Inn Waco
Waco Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing