We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The cottage at Tell Story Walk could not have...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Great Room:  fireplace, leather couch and chairs, oriental rugs Gourmet Kitchen: gas range, microwave, copper cookware, nonstick cookware, full range of appliances
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
The Great Room:  fireplace, leather couch and chairs, oriental rugs
Gourmet Kitchen: gas range, microwave, copper cookware, nonstick cookware, full range of appliances
Dinning Area and Kitchen: 
table seats 6; counter seats 2
Great Room: TV & stereo cabinet; wine cabinet; entrance to Bedroom
Bedroom: queen size bed faces TV and book shelves
Bedroom: writing desk and chair; french doors open out to patio
Bedroom: ceiling fan; TV and books
1st floor Bath: vanity; 2 person shower; window seat
Great Room: 
stairway to Loft
View from Loft: Dinning Area; Kitchen; Great Room
Loft: 3 twin beds; 2 ceiling fans
2nd floor Bath: vanity and claw foot tub
Roof Porch: think morning coffee; evening wine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Waco, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan W B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The cottage at Tell Story Walk could not have been more perfect!”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved that the cottage was away from the bustle of town. Our hosts, Mark and Mary were there to greet us, and they couldn't have been kinder or more accommodating! We walk in to a breath taking home with every amenity imaginable. On the first floor is a beautiful bedroom, and upstairs is a loft with 3 twin beds. Outside the lower floor bedroom is a gorgeous covered deck, complete with rocking chairs, table, grill for cooking, and a fire pit.

And if you're in the mood to cook, the kitchen is fully equipped for any gourmet meal you can create. In addition to that, Mary had provided wonderful individual quiches for breakfast as well as friendship bread and homemade scones! There was also a lovely basket of fresh fruit. No stone was left unturned to make your stay unforgettable!

We will certainly be returning to experience this wonderful place again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Susan,
After reading your review, I can't help but wonder if you secretly write for a travel magazine. Your description of us, the cottage, the food, etc. - you do Tell Story Walk proud beyond words. And this from a shotgun toting "Country girl" who doesn't hesitate to shoot an armadillo in the pristine city limits of the greater Dallas/Ft. Worth metro area. You, and Robyn as well, are gems.
Mary and I enjoyed our brief but colorful moments with the two of you. You're lively spirits left a lasting impression on us. It was a privilege to host you. Thank you for your thought words. We hope to see you again one day.
All our best,
Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie0827...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect girls getaway”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is absolutely gorgeous and in the most serene setting surrounded by live oak trees. Everything is top quality from the breakfast to the linens. The breakfast Mary provided was amazing! Mark and Mary are so hospitable and have thought of every little detail to make you feel right at home. We had the best time, wish we would have stayed longer!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Katie,
Thank you for taking the time to share with the traveler's world
your impressions of our B&B. Each time we read one of our guests reviews it's like sitting down with a new friend (over a cup of coffee) and hearing them confirm our personal dream.
You, your mother, and "the cousins" make up a colorful group. We particularly appreciated how open you were about sharing your lives, from life on a mega ranch to life as a restaurant marketer. Speaking of which, Mary and I still haven't had the opportunity to sample the Bar BQ at Hard Eight, but it tops our list when we are in the area.
In closing, we both want to thank you again for your choosing Tell
Story Walk to celebrate Patty's birthday, and for your glowing comments about your time here.
All our best,
Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable cottage surrounded by huge live oaks with the sweetest people greeting you upon arrival!”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you think you might like a cottage just out of town, surrounded by huge live oak trees with fresh flowers in every room, this is the place to book. It is beautiful and so clean it shines with antiques and personality everywhere. The hosts, Mark and Mary are so friendly and sweet! Add to all of that fresh, very tasty scones, fresh fruit and a nice bottle of red wine. They thought of everything!! We had a wonderful time!! I felt like an invited guest!! Thanks Mark and Mary!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
What a nice surprise to start our day. Your family was just what our cottage was made for: People who enjoy each other and simply want to be together, safe, private, and comfortable. From the moment we greeted you we sensed the deep, close relationship you share with each other. What a blesssing, that you all live in such close proximity to each other. And as to the important matter of Bar BQ, Mary has already cross examined her daughter about Hard Eight. "We eat there every time we go to Stephenville." So, I guess we're in for a new treat. Once again, thank you for choosing us for your time here in Waco. You are spirited and fun. You make everything we do worthwhile.
God be with you all,
Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethcrave...
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay in Waco”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had the pleasure of staying at Tell Story Walk for the second time. This trip we brought my parents so they could see why we love this place so much. The owners, Mark and Mary, are hands down the most wonderful people you will ever have the pleasure of meeting. They greeted us like family the moment we arrived and had the Cottage all ready for our stay with delicious food and our favorite drinks. The Cottage is beautifully decorated with everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Mark and Mary have thought of everything. From the soft linens to the fully stocked kitchen, your comfort is their top priority. Let's not forget the delicious breakfast delivered daily. Everything they serve is fabulous and will leave you full and ready to start your day. The grounds are beautiful with mature trees and lots of outdoor living space. We could spend hours walking around and just enjoying the peaceful outdoors.
We truly had the best time again at Tell Story Walk. My parents fell in love with the place and enjoyed not only the Cottage but the pleasure of story telling with Mark and Mary. We could have talked all night long. We all agreed that our favorite part of our trip was staying at the Cottage and visiting with Mark and Mary because they are truly special people with loving, caring hearts.
My husband first brought me to Waco to experience the Magnolia Market last year for my birthday, which was so much fun but we will keep coming back because of Mark and Mary and the Cottage at Tell Story Walk. They are part of our family now! We are blessed to have met them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Beth,
Once in awhile we all run across something written where we wouldn't change a single word. That is how your review came across to Mary and me. My daughter, Amy, was visiting when we received it. Imagine how we felt to read your high praises in her presence. Your description of our cottage, our grounds, and our hospitality was punctuated time and again by her "Wow." But perhaps the most enduring impression was saved for the last. You and Jim endeared yourselves to us a year ago. Now, for you to return here with your parents, and share not only our place but moments in your lives gives us the kind of keepsakes we cherish for always. So thank you, for your beautiful and expressive review. Thank you, too, for bringing your parents into our lives. But thank you most of all for sharing with us a part of your lives that makes you, today and always, family to us.
May God ever be with you,
Mark and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegance and Warmth”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Top notch hosts added to the enveloping ambiance of this totally impeccable, first rate B&B. It was a dream come true to enjoy it with my sisters and nieces. HIGHLY recommend the Cottage at Tell Story Walk!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2017
Teresa,
Eloquent words for our little place. You make me feel like I need to put on a tux just to read your review out loud. Sincerely, thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We value your opinion of our B&B. But most of all, we revel in the simple fact that you and yours enjoyed yourselves here. In this, Mary and I have never more appreciated life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nursemate...
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will love it!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Cottage at Tell Story is exceptional. It is quality in every way, from the luxury accommodations to the homemade breakfasts and snacks. Mary's homemade scones are the best! Mary and Mark are the sweetest, kindest people you will ever meet. They have thought of everything down to the smallest detail, to ensure that you enjoy your stay. Their exquisitely executed cottage in its beautiful, peaceful setting makes it hard to leave. It's was just a few minutes out of town and only 2 miles miles from "the Homestead" which was convenient for a quick dinner. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay! I would gladly travel cross country back to Texas again, just to be able to stay at Tell story! We Loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2017
Pamela,
Your beautiful review was just made available to us, and your reflections brought back cherished memories. To this day Mary tells the story of returning from the hospital only to walk into your wonderful arms of prayer and support. How is it that our God arranges such times? Your presence here at Tell Story Walk was a blessing to us in ways we could never have foreseen. And now, we read your thoughtful words, and all we can say is thank you. Thank you for caring. Thank you for stepping into our lives with such earnest, heartfelt support. And thank you for living out your faith in ways that will always be remembered. Like those ways, you too, will always be remembered.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masterman...
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene Getaway”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have picked a more lovely place to stay. Attention to detail is an understatement, accommodations were incredible, delicious food, and friendliness insurmountable! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
Karen,
Thank you. Your superlatives are over the top and we shamefully loved reading every word. You and your Man for all Seasons were not only fun to talk to, the construction suggestions I received were spot on. As happens so often with our guests, Mary and I are the real recipients. We look forward to your coming back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing