We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, unfortunate construction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Victoria
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel, unfortunate construction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel itself was wonderful. Rooms were nice and had a microwave and refrigerator. Beds were very comfortable, although I am short and thought them too high, as was the marble counter in the bathroom. There was a grab bar by the bathtub, and the water pressure and temperature were perfect. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate (all the usual plus scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy). The dining area was cheerful, and candy and granola bars sat on the counter outside the dining area for guests to pick up while exiting or entering the hotel. Newspapers were also provided, plus free wifi. However, there is construction going on around the hotel which makes entrance, egress inconvenient. Our one-night stay was pleasant,but I did not have time to check out any of the amenities. If all Holiday Expresses are as nice as this one, I would certainly stay in one again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2littletime2seeitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiseManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We would like to apologize for the the inconvenience the road construction may have caused you during your stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
16
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean and spacious. The beds were so comfortable that I have purchased the same type of mattress. The staff was great and friendly. Room 338 has a beautiful view of the pool. The pool has a warm lighting which changes colors and makes it so inviting!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilward5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiseManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We delighted to know that your stay with us was comfortable on your TempurPedic beds was excellent. Our team strives to be the best in accommodating our guests to feel right at home. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schulenburg, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

WOW! TempurPedic beds! Stay here just to try out the bed if you are thinking about buying one! Amazing and comfortable! SPOTLESS, fresh, clean, comfortable, no complaints at all! Yummy breakfast with a cool pancake maker, no waiting in line for one of those waffle makers! The staff was so nice during check in and check out and the lady on staff in the breakfast area was so sweet. Beautiful property inside and out with very modern lovely décor.

Room Tip: #225 was a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiseManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We’re glad to hear that your Valentine’s getaway was wonderful. Our team aspirers the difference to create a one of a kind experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again on another getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroy, Iowa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two days for our 10th Anniversary. We would not have picked Victoria, TX except we had grandparents that would take our two small children for two days so we could have some time to ourselves. If you have to stay in Victoria, you will notice that hotels are very expensive compared to similar hotels in other towns. This is true for this Holiday Inn and all other properties in this town due to booming business in the town. The price remained high even though it was pretty empty due to the holidays.

Given that, it ended up being a delightful stay for us. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and bright and spacious. When we checked in, we got a snack bag and bottles of water. Breakfast was yummy and hot. We liked having a DVD player in the room so we could bring in our own videos. The business center computers were fairly fast and were both working. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. Only the high price keeps me from rating it a 5.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
211 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed for two nights at the Holiday inn Express in Victoria while in town for business. I enjoyed my stay, but I have to say that if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel you'll need to stay somewhere other than Victoria. This little HIX was more expensive than the Intercontinental Buckhead in Atlanta! And, no - it didn't offer anything special. It still had the same pillows, same amenities, and same cinnamon rolls.

I did find it a little strange that in a hotel where I was told "We can charge this much because we stay at 100% capacity," that in spite of the guaranteed crowd there were only about eight tables in the breakfast area. There was plenty of room to add more without crowding the space. I found a table, but I witnessed several people struggling to find a place to sit. I can only imagine what it was like on a busy weekend morning.

One thing to note for future travelers. This hotel is off of a very busy road. Previous reviewers said to get to it from the side road but when I was there the side road was blocked off to through traffic because of the construction on the new hotel next door. I found it easier to go up the road and make a u-turn.

All in all, this was a solid, comfortable Holiday Inn Express. The staff were well-trained, the room was spotless, and the common areas were well-kept. My stay was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherNiteOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding a few weekends ago and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. IMy advice would be to ask for a room on the 3rd (top) floor because the people above us were stomping around until after midnight one night. It's not the quietest place in general so bring your ear plugs. But we'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's still easy to see why it gets high marks. The entire facility is bright and spacious, from the lobby to the hallways to the rooms... even the bathrooms. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed with comfortable beds, and the bathrooms are large enough that you can move around freely. They serve a good breakfast with daily variety.

I don't think any room has a good view... vacant lots, old buildings, new construction. And if you're traveling south, you have to make a left across a very busy street at an uncontrolled inersection to get to the hotel. (Take the back way.) But it's still a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you're coming down Navarro (77) from the north, turn east on the Zac Lentz (463) service road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Victoria
Courtyard Victoria
#3 of 23 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Victoria, TX
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Victoria
Hampton Inn Victoria
#2 of 23 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Victoria
Days Inn Victoria
#5 of 23 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria
Address: 111 Huvar St, Victoria, TX 77904-1557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria invites guests to experience the charm of South Texas. Ideally situated in the heart of one of the oldest cities in Texas, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Victoria offers you easy access to the Victoria Regional Airport, the University of Houston-Victoria and Victoria College. Within four miles of our friendly South Texas Crossroads accommodations, travelers can enjoy an afternoon visiting the Riverside Park and Zoo, shopping at Victoria Mall or boating at Coleto Creek Lake. The nearby historic district of Victoria offers a variety of shops, restaurants and businesses, which are a short distance from our Victoria, Texas hotel. Business travelers can appreciate that Dow Chemical, BP, Equistar, Tyco Plastics and Invista-Dupont are in close proximity to our convenient Victoria hotel. DeTar Hospital, Citizens Hospital and Victoria College are close to us. Located just four miles away, the esteemed Colony Creek Golf Course is a great place to spend an afternoon with co-workers. During your say, we hope you will enjoy our Victoria hotel's excellent amenities. With a modern approach to comfort, the hotel offers a complimentary breakfast and free high-speed Internet access, as well as an outdoor pool and spa, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center and an on-site laundry services. Whether you plan to visit for business or pleasure, be sure to explore our Victoria, Texas hotel's exceptional rates and book your rooms today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Victoria
Victoria Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing