We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger in a long, long time.”
Review of Jim's Big Burger

Jim's Big Burger
Ranked #6 of 180 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Family owned restaurant in Victoria, Tx. Best hamburgers in Victoria.
Restaurant details
Description: Family owned restaurant in Victoria, Tx. Best hamburgers in Victoria.
Derby, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best burger in a long, long time.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just inducted Jim's Big Burger into our our Burger hall of fame. We stopped for lunch while taking the scenic route from Galveston back to San Antonio. The last time we were in Victoria we had tried to eat here, but found them closed. Yesterday, we scored. The place was jumping, but service was quick. The Big Burger was on special and we added bacon and cheese. One bite and as a previous reviewer said, we were in Burger heaven. We have been in search of the perfect burger in Texas and this one is now our top contender. The meat was juicy, the cheese melty, the veggies crisp and very fresh, the bacon was excellent and perfectly cooked--crispy but not dry. And the bun! This is the weak link on many otherwise fine burgers, but at Jims, the bun holds together until the end and was warm and toasted. They get another star just for that! You can bet that whenever we drive through Victoria, we will be stopping at Jim's Big Burger.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dexldex02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great spot for a good burger”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stopped for lunch on the way from Houston to South Padre Island. The burgers were great, and the fries were very good as well. The onion rings and tater tots were mediocre.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLWHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“The gold standard for burgers in Victoria”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the place to have a burger in Victoria, TX. Period. End of story. Add fries, O-rings, and a shake. You have entered Burger Heaven. And the price is right. No matter what anyone else tells you about the burger in other eateries, Jim's is the one to beat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cozy little joint”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Most of the staff have been working there for years or are part of the owner's family so you will feel at home there. Menu varies but has great selection, burgers are their specialty but the fire chicken sandwich as well as chicken strips are great too. All ice cream is blue bell and they sell home made dessert too that varies. Small seating area but they recently expanded so it can handle larger crowds these days. Prices are decent and service is quick and friendly. They give a good restaurant atmosphere with the order takers yelling out the orders to the kitchen right behind them lol. Check it out but expect it to be busy (still quick tho) if you go around lunch time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweet_cyanide_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good eats in Vic”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

There is no shortage of the regular fast food burger joints in Victoria. Jim's big burger is the better alternative to chain burger places. The menu is diverse and the meat tastes good. The onion rings were good and the service was fast for a fresh made burger. The price is right as well.

Close to the motels by the mall so no reason not to try the place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim's Big Burger also viewed

 
Victoria, Texas Gulf Coast
Victoria, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Jim's Big Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing