We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Cabins for Quiet Retrear”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vanderpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodges at Lost Maples
Reviewed October 5, 2009

If you're looking for a quiet cabin in the country, then this place is great. I ended up staying here at the last minute after my favorite cabin was booked in Colorado (and since I live in Austin, I saved all that airfare.) The five cabins were all charming and well-decorated, and clean as could be. It's about a 10 minute drive to Lost Maples, which was just beginning to change colors when we were there on October 2-4. Jeralyn, the Lodges owner, was super friendly and helpful, although not having an office on-site for intermittent questions is the only small drawback that I can think of (and without phones in the cabins or working cell phones, you're pretty much on your own.) But Jeralyn does come by daily to drop off the wonderful breakfasts and can answer questions at that time. We stayed in the Tree House, which was farthest from the road and quiet and peaceful. Having read prior reviews, we brought groceries, which was a must because there really isn't much to eat nearby (although the Motorcyle Museum near Lost Maples has great burgers.) Plus, you traverse a winding road to get anywhere, so I wouldn't have wanted to drive after dark just for dinner. But the kitchen was well-stocked (microwave, oven, range, outdoor grills, pots, pans, etc.) so that cooking was easy and enjoyable. The cabin was stocked with DVD's and VHS tapes (but bring your own just in case they don't have what you like) and the VCR and DVD player worked well, but again, there is no tv reception so be aware. It would have been nice to have a CD player for a little music, but next time we'll just bring IPOD speakers. All in all, this is a great place to get away for a quiet weekend. If you're looking for action and fine dining, then this is not the place for you, but if you want a quiet place to read, hike, relax and spend quality time with friends and loved ones, then this is a wonderful choice. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenneritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Treehouse June 12-14. It was very quiet and private (last on the road of 5 cabins).
Do not expect to be pampered and entertained here. Other than a VCR and DVD (with a selection of family movies), you must make your own fun. That was what WE were looking for, but just so you know… the closest town / restaurant is a 20 minute drive. Breakfast was delivered to our cabin at 9:30 each morning – homemade and tasty. We ate on the porch while watching the birds and squirrels eat from the feeder.
All the basic necessities were provided in the cabin, and everything was clean and in good condition. (We did not find the bed comfortable, but that’s personal preference.) If you plan ahead and bring your groceries, you could easily prepare meals in the kitchen.
We drove into Leakey (about 20 minutes -- very beautiful, scenic, and winding) and had a good, hometown lunch at the Leakey Feed Lot.
We really enjoyed our evening at the Bandera Saloon (40 minutes in the other direction). The food was very upscale, quality hometown cooking. (Sounds like an oxymoron, but it’s not). The music was great too.
We tried to eat at the TexaRita in Bandera, but it was gross.
If you’re looking to get away and have a lot of peace and quiet in a naturally stunning area of Texas, The Lodges at Lost Maples is your place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dales_Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We needed a placed to stay while attending an archery tournament and found this property online. It was only a few minutes away from the venue site, and the drive to and from was outstanding - the scenery in the REAL Texas Hill Country is wonderful.

The Treehouse was quite nicely appointed and immaculate - hot water for the shower, plenty of water pressure, beautiful views and the Treehouse is the last cabin so the most secluded.

The only reason I didn't rate this a 5 star is that breakfast came just a tad later than we would have liked (around 9:30am) preventing us from getting out and about earlier (we thought it would be closer to 9am). Not that big of a deal, though, and the food was delicious. We found the mattress to be just a little too firm as well, so I put the comforter under the sheets to soften it up a little. Again, perhaps just a matter of personal preference.

We loved star gazing at night - it was "heavenly" :-). We never even watched a DVD or VCR tape, so have no idea of that appliance worked, but we didn't miss it. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary in October. It was a little too early for the changing of the leaves but we had a great time. We loved our little cabin with its porch and peaceful views. The treats for breakfast were really good - a mixed set of pastries, fresh juice and a lovely bowl of tasty fruit. I failed to let the owner know that I can not eat sugary foods so some of the items were a little sweet for me but my hubby chowed down. I appreciated all the little extra touches like making sure there were condiments in the fridge and fresh cream, etc.

Our cabin was very comfortable. In fact, we had a hard time getting out of that warm bed in the morning. The area around the lodges is remote but absolutely gorgeous and the star scape at night is amazing. It was so nice to not hear the sounds of the city around you. The peace and quiet was wonderful!

The weekend we were there, the owners had to be away but they were very gracious in ensuring that we had everything we needed before we left. They were very nice.

Things to know - there is virtually no cell phone reception unless you are with AT&T. TV reception is non-existent. None of this bothered us since we were there to get away from it all but if you are a technology/tv junkie, you might want to reconsider.

The long and short of this is that we really liked this place and plan on making it a regular stop for ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank smokeytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We just stayed at the Lodges and it was rustic. There is no televison service which is great but the vcr didn't work...not good. Also no soap had to ask. There was an old sponge in the kitchen which wasn't appealing to use and would have liked a fresh one. The website does not describe each cabin it just gives a genereal overview so we thought we would have bunk beds and didn't. We also had a bath tub only which was not good for washing hair. It is situated btwn two highways and there was construction on the highway to our cabin which was not good for getting around. There is no view at all outside your cabin except trees. I would say we will research more next time. The price of the cabins is too high for what you get.
The best part of the Lodges was the home baked goods each morning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TexasPebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happy2bTexas, innkeeper at The Lodges at Lost Maples, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2009

The Lodges at Lost Maples are located on one of the #1 scenic drives in Texas. Each cabin is situated in a valley with views of the mountains, and it is regrettable that the guests felt that there were no views available. Our guest's opinions are very important to us and we appreciate all of the comments that have been submitted. These comments provide us with the insight necessary to continue to be a favorite spot to visit. Each morning when breakfast is delivered to the cabin we are available to address the needs of our guests, and although we hate that you have to ask for anything, we are most happy to get it for you! The best news of all is that the road construction is finished and guests can enjoy the area unencumbered!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

This was a last minute get away and we are planning our next visit. Watching the sunset and hearing the sounds of nature is something that you tend to miss in the city. There was a full moon and the breakfast was fresh every morning. The "DEN" was perfect. The Lodges helped to make a very special weekend a dream come true.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starnskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

These cabins are wonderfully designed - with enough distance between them to feel very private. Thoughtful touches like games, a deck of cards, paperbacks and a binder full of area information create a very welcoming feeling. The kitchens include all utensils and dishes anyone would need, a coffeemaker and coffee - even birdseed to encourage feeding the birds. The linens and quilts are clean and comfortable . Our cabin - the Firefly had a great screened-in porch with a cool bed on ropes hung from the rafters - perfect to swing in while watching the birds all morning. The owner, Jeralyn, delivered a delicious breakfast too - really tasty pastries and hot croissants with eggs and cheese - delicious. This area of Texas is just gorgeous in the Spring. This a great place to stay to see Lost Maples, Garner State Park, and in the summer - tubing the Rio Frio. Thanks, Jeralyn!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokeyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodges at Lost Maples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Lost Maples

Address: 77 Lower Sabinal River Rd, Vanderpool, TX 78885
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera County > Vanderpool
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vanderpool
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private cabins located between Lost Maples and Garner state parks offering private porches with mountain views, fully-equipped kitchens and central air/heat. Linens provided. Close to Utopia, Vanderpool, Leakey, Medina and Bandera. Nearby activities include horseback riding, river tubing, and hiking. On-site activities include stargazing, wildlife viewing, birding, campfire rings and BBQ grills. Spa,romance and birthday packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Lost Maples Hotel Vanderpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing