We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fall Color”

Lost Maples State Natural Area
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An excellent park to view fall foliage while walking the Maple and East Trails.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fall Color”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Easterners say that Texas doesn't have fall colors but that is not true. although we arrived late in the season, the colors were still beautiful November is prime viewing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    50
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Marvellous Hill Country hiking!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent a day here hiking the West Loop Trail and we will certainly return to hike the remainder of the trails. This is a gem of a place, even for an area as pretty as the Hill Country. The staff are friendly, the entire place is as clean as you will ever find, and the hiking itself ranges from challenging to easy. We also checked out several of the "primitive campsites" and they are both well-positioned and set up for easy camping access. We will definitely return, and may well pitch a tent here at some point in the future.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great weekend or weekday outing”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Enough trails are available to allow for several visits without duplicating. The drive from San Antonio is very lovely and takes about 1.5 hours. Although we went on a weekend and had to wait in line to get inside the park it moved very quickly and the rangers made sure there was parking for anyone wanting to get inside. We chose the maple trail and then switched to the east trail. The east trail goes up and down the hill and is very steep in some places. It is very challenging for anyone with small children, strollers or even those not in good shape. Keep in mind once you are on top the trail going down is just as challenging. We took our time and enjoyed to various sights. The trees were turning and the colors were outstanding. Crossing the river is made easier since the water was at low levels and there were rocks to jump across. This park also has restroom facilities scattered throughout, primitive camping, and a picnic area for day use. It is a great getaway for families, couples, singles, and friends. You can also enjoy just sitting by the lake or river if you don't want to climb the hill.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank YolandaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good hill country hiking with too many people”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hiking itself is very good and there are some nice challenging climbs. The downside is way too many people, many of which have no business leaving an urban park. These trails are not made for people wearing flip flops and Crocs. The trails also are not paved to accomodate baby strollers. Lastly, I have no idea why anyone thinks its a great idea to bring along their dog. Its cruel to expect small house dogs to try and climb the rugged, rocky areas. All-in-all, a good place to vist for the day; just bring lots of patience to navigate the obstacles noted here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Anomaly”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I try to get out to Lost Maples every year when the fall camping season starts to heat up. This park is very, very popular since it is one of only a few places in Texas that you can experience autumn with the changing colors of the trees. Peak is usually in mid to late November, but the park is so awesome for hiking and camping fall through spring. Enjoy the miles of trails and easily get away from the crowds if you head into the west side of the park or primitive camp in the back area (away from the ponds).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank strontium87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Maples State Natural Area also viewed

Texas, United States
Vanderpool, Bandera County
 
Vanderpool, Bandera County
 

Been to Lost Maples State Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing