We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice overnight stay”
Review of Motel 6 Van Horn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Van Horn
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was moving & found this motel late a night. It turned out to be a great choice. There were a lot of motels in this small town, but I am glad I chose this one. It is small, inexpensive & I felt very safe there. The room was clean and I appreciated the kindness of the employees there. I would stay there again if I were ever to come back this way. It was all I needed for an overnight stay. I hope this is helpful for anyone else looking for the same thing, a nice overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 112 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

the outside grounds are very nicely landscaped and this motel 6 is smaller than most, so it has a nicer outside appearance. the lobby area was nice and check-in was quick. there is a computer in the lobby for public use. the rooms have microwave and fridge at no extra charge, unlike most motel 6s. the room was the usual, basic motel 6 type room with a dirty bathroom floor.
there are even cheaper motels that include breakfast east of this motel 6 on the same street, but they don't look as nice as this motel 6.
so overall it's an ok place to stay for a low rate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

OK folks, it's time for Mr. Diesel to write a balanced review and bring some of the comments here into perspective. This isn't the Ritz and it isn't a dive.

I stayed one night at this Motel 6 on the return leg of a road trip I took to Austin to attend a wedding reception. I was traveling without my wife, so I didn't really feel the need to book something more modern and costly (such as the Hampton Inn across the highway), so after reading the reviews here I opted for the Motel 6.

Do I regret staying there? Nope. It was a great value. Is it the "Motel Hilton"? Absolutely NOT. It's an old motel, folks. An almost creepy building that was constructed in the 1970s. Rooms that, for the most part, have furniture and fixtures from that era. On the positive side, my room was clean and didn't have any funky, musty smells. But some of the furniture is hanging on by a thread (the laminate is peeling off), and the sink has one of those old obnoxious Delta faucets that sits so far back from the bowl that you cram your hands up against the back of the sink to get them wet. The TV is an old tube set (do they still make those?), and one of the hand towels is clean, but stained and should have been thrown out. Even the phone in the room is an old Bell-type touchtone phone. I have truly stepped into a time warp.

Considering the appearance of the other motels in Van Horn, the Motel 6 is probably the best choice among the lot. Most of the others look positively frightening. Van Horn itself has the appearance of a boarded-up ghost town. We usually stay at the Hampton Inn when passing through, but the Hampton Inn has become ridiculously expensive for the area and I opted for a lower-cost choice for this trip.

My bottom line: if traveling alone, I'd probably stay here again without hesitation. If traveling with my wife, I wouldn't even consider it unless she asked for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VailAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Perfect little stop. Inexpensive, but clean & well maintained. Everything you need for a quick night's stop. Great value for the money! It is an older motel, but clean & friendly staff. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have to begin with the fact that the price was great. The room was clean and nice. My bed was very comfortable. It has a very lovely lobby. The employees working there were all friendly. I enjoyed my stay very much. I recommend this motel to anyone looking for a reasonable price, but with the same qualities as an expensive motel. It was clean, comfortable & friendly. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stay in a lot of motels & this is one of the nicest ones I have stayed in. Personel is amazing. The manager, Debbie was so welcoming & nice. The room was clean. Grocery store next door. Great working wifi. The price was great. Truck parking. Everything that you need was right there. I will stay here again. Thumbs up to Debbie & her staff!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband I had room 29.
Pluses: A bargain: Only $49/night! Quiet heating unit, and lots of hot water.
Minuses: They supply no toiletries & no shampoo, but there were small towels and stained facecloths. There were 2 dogs loose on premises and dog poo everywhere- just disgusting. The beds were old, and there were no fitted sheets so the bottom sheets pulled out during the night. There was just a single bed blanket on our double bed. The phone didn't work and the TV went off shortly after we turned it on, never to revive.There was a fridge and microwave that worked. No breakfast was incl so we went to Sands for breakfast. Please note: the motel is located between a railway and interstate highway.
Conclusion: it was OK for one night, but we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
75 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#3 of 14 in Van Horn
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 14 in Van Horn
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Van Horn

Address: 1805 West Broadway, I-10 at Broadway, Exit #138, Van Horn, TX 79855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range: $55 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Van Horn
Van Horn Motel Six
Van Horn Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing