We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip the crappy chains and reap the rewards”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taylor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Van Horn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taylor Motel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Certificate of Excellence
VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Skip the crappy chains and reap the rewards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The chain hotels in van horn are pricey and rough - the Taylor motel has been here since people were driving model T Fords (they have a picture to prove it) yet it is amazingly well cared for and cute. Everything you could want from HBO and wireless Internet to a guest kitchen and laundry for $35 bucks. Clean, retro, large rooms with mini fridge, microwave, tv, Internet = AWESOME STAY

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrXterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
17
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Comfy beds, stayed in unit 1 I think which has two separate rooms. Trains do come by till the wee hours, but hard to escape that in Van Horn. Staff friendly. No iron that I could find anywhere, but they do have a laundry. Fridge and Microwave in-room. Covered parking next to room. Overall a good experience and inexpensive, 40 bucks or so for group of 3.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank whipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Very spacious and clean room! It's nice to support local, non-chains. We were traveling with our college-aged daughter and whe had her own room---all for 40 bucks.
However, train noise was enough to shake the room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesausten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My review is my title. LOve this place. Van horn is a lonely town. We were so pleased to find this motel. We chose it because ft Stockton was the next city and way overpriced. Taylor motel is clean cozy and priced wonderfully. If u are traveling I 10 stop at van horn. Where else can you get a motel with your own garage

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garcia5g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved this vintage motel. Very clean and comfortable and a nice change from the big box hotels. Very friendly management..Dogs stay for free!!! We'll stay here next we're heading back to Texas from California for sure..

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you have to stay in Van Horn, this place is good and CHEAP. But Van Horn is a terrible town. Very run down, scary people, not kid friendly anywhere and worst of all, the train blows it's horn many times throughout the night. We had a loud A/C but were still woken up repeatedly by the noise. The bed was pretty firm too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a VERY old motor court.....but the modernization that has been done on it is incredible. The family that has carefully remodeled and restored this place are sticklers for quality. The care they have taken to make it a place of comfort and convenience is evident everywhere. They offer a very nice full kitchen on premises for the use of patrons. the rooms have good beds and good air conditioning. The pink tile showers are not retro.....they are actually authentic and have been carefully maintained through the years. Coffee and pastries are offered in the morning, although the owner offered to make coffee whenever desired. Now....the best part is the price. Without asking for discounts of any kind I was offered a room for two at a rate of $34 for two. It is indeed a rare bargain! You can reserve a room by calling them at (432) 284-9691 I believe in letting others know a good deal when I find it and this is one for sure.

Room Tip: Room #1 has room for a family of five(two queens and a twin.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#5 of 14 in Van Horn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Whitten Inn
Whitten Inn
#13 of 14 in Van Horn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor Motel

Property: Taylor Motel
Address: 900 West Broadway, Van Horn, TX 79855
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing