We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taylor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Van Horn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taylor Motel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We could not get a room at the El Capitan Hotel and saw this motel on Trip Advisor. The reviews were very good so we decided to give it a try. Frankly, I would not have considered staying here had it not been for the reviews but we found the reviews to be right on target. This is a family owned motel and they obviously care a great deal about their business. We stayed 3 nights and commuted 1 hour (next door by Texas standards) to Guadalupe Mountain Nat'l Park each day for hiking. The motel is very simple but very clean and tidy. Towels and sheets were all very fresh. Recently renovated room was comfortable. Good cable TV with excellent WifFi access. AC was fine. It is near the railroad tracks as are many of the motels but neither my wife nor I was bothered at all. Luxury it is not but a great value it is. We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBGTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
14
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

After reading the reviews here we decided to give Taylor Motel a try and were very happy. The beds were comfortable, wi-fi worked great, the room was clean, and the room came with a fridge and microwave. The room with two double beds cost around $32 and was well worth the price. It does back up to the train tracks but that was really not an issue while we stayed. If you find yourself looking for a place to stay on a trip stay here it was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights enroute to Las Cruces and cannot recommend it highly enough in its price range. This is a friendly, service-oriented, spotless family run motel with an excellent separate building for a very well equipped and clean kitchen with tables, chairs and a TV. We found that the WiFi worked better in this area than in the room although it was fine for e-mails in the room. A laundry room was adjacent to this. It was very quiet when we were there so it was like having the place to ourselves. Free coffee and donuts in the office in the mornings although we made our own breakfast in the kitchen. We used the facilities well and enjoyed our stay very much. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Since the place was nearly empty we were given a family unit - two rooms with 3 double beds total co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallishouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
260 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Writing from the Taylor Motel right now, free wifi, two clean double beds, a tile bath, excellent cable, no smoking smells, no charge for our dog, a fridge and microwave. Yes, the place is old, but it's been very decently refurbished with new carpet, paint. What's not to like for $32?? I'll repost if we don't sleep tonight, but so far it seems like a fantastic deal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had a great stay and experience at the Taylor. Each room is individually separated, meaning you will not hear any noise from other people. Each room also had it's own carport, which is very rare to find. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had our own heat and air conditioning units and the room stayed very pleasant throughout the night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Van Horn. Very affordable and very clean!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I usually stay at one of the chain motels in Van Horn but had read a review for this motel and took a chance. It was great. The room was nice and clean, had a refrigerator, microwave, and TV with lots of channels. No swimming pool but the pool at the other motel was always too cold or had a bunch of little kids in it and I could never use it. This is an older motel but well kept, It does back up to the railroad tracks and trains do come through, but it really didn't bother me. Being an early riser when they started blowing there whistle at 6am it was no big deal. Just part of the charm of Van Horn. I would definitly stay here again!

Room Tip: If trains bother you this is not the place for you, the tracks are right behind the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank TucsonExcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, CO
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This single level renovated family-run hotel is an absolute gem for value, cleanliness,
comfort, and convenience in Van Horn, TX. In the past two years, I 've stayed at this
motel over 30 days in a room with one queen bed, refrigerator, microwave, and
individually controlled a/c and heat . This retro property has been renovated by the
Martinez family and features car ports and hence, no shared walls between most
rooms (making for quiet). Rooms are clean and comfortable and in 2011 there is now
a new Guest Laundry (coin washer, dryer) and a spacious Guest Kitchen complete with
stove/oven, large refrigerator, microwave, commercial sink, and even a large flat
screen TV! Although the train tracks are close by this property, it seems that their
passage is infrequent enough (for me) not to disturb a restful/relaxed space.
Of the many lodging options in Van Horn, this one is the BEST, especially for those
who like to cook for themselves and stretch their dollars.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#4 of 14 in Van Horn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Whitten Inn
Whitten Inn
#13 of 14 in Van Horn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Van Horn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor Motel

Property: Taylor Motel
Address: 900 West Broadway, Van Horn, TX 79855
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing