We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

El Capitan Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Van Horn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The hotel has recently opened the only upscale restaurant in the Van Horn. It is open to the public and offers excellent food and service!
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Unexpectedly nice restaurant and bar in a beautifully restored Trost Hotel in Van Horn, TX

Can I also say that it is sad to see the comments about the state of town Van Horn. No it's not Dallas or San Antonio, but it is in the historic Big Bend area, located on I-10, and a great place to stop and spend the night if you are travelling to NM or CO. And many travelers are in this region precisely because it's not the big city or overrun with chain stores and parking lots.

Also, it might be interesting to learn more about the Big Bend region, the hopes for a boom in tourism in the 1920's that lead to the chain of Trost hotels in the Southwest, and the disappointments that came when the oil boom in this area came to an end.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin_78704_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    89
    20
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in this dried-up town.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

You would not believe what a nice place this is located in this dried-up town. Nice bar, good food, friendly staff

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tn
Level Contributor
426 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a small town”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful fining, pleasant waitress, and some of the best food I've had in any restaurant. Can't believe I left full and it wasn't even a buffet.

This place is worth getting off the interstate just to eat. A little pricey but the quality and ambience easily justify it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner was an unexpected pleasure in both the service received as well as the meal.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I has exactly the same meal so I can only tell you about one entree and it was the special. I hope you a fortunate enough to have the pork chop in a whiskey apple sauce, mashed potatoes and asparagus. All of the ingredients were fresh, cooked perfectly, plated nicely and tasted fabulous. To finish our meal we had fresh peach crisp with vanilla ice cream. The meal made me wonder how they managed to snag a professionally trained chef! The service was so very friendly by both the bartender and the waitress. Even the bus boy stopped by once to say hi and ask about our meal. It was down home service, not elegant, but very pleasant. The decor is open and simple and shows cleanliness, history, and charm. Look for Mae Mae and Ann. You will be happy you stopped here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCleaner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A full service restaurant/bar in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed eating at this hotel restaurant. Originally went for cocktails only but after reviewing the menu we decided to eat here. The selections were plentiful and prices reasonable. The staff was very accommodating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank quete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Capitan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Capitan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing