We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southwestern style all of it own!”
Review of Hotel El Capitan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Capitan
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
“Southwestern style all of it own!”
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Went on a whirlwind 4 day hiking trip through sw Texas and stun bled upon this cool, chic, little hotel when on our way to the Guadalupe Mts. The hotel's parked in a very small little Texas town (Van Horn) with very few amenities. The hotel has the look of an old Mexico hacienda, and the interior decor to match. The court yard had a beautiful fountain and a few tables to sit around and enjoy a relaxing beverage with friends. The food at the restaurant was very good, and the evening beers after a long days hike at Big Bend National Park were even better. The price was very reasonable for my hiking partner and I, and the room was very comfortable. Pleasantly surprised to find this type of hotel in the middle of nowhere...highly recommended if your stip throug to climb Guad Peak.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saadma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    148
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
68
189
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Great hotel with a unique ambiance. Enjoyed the restaurant downstairs too. Worth the money.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LoveNeverDies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This hotel is a find! Newly restored with a unique feel from the courtyard with its fountain and tables, into the lobby, and the beautiful, super clean rooms! It's like walking back in time when the hotel was shiny and new--because it is sparkling and carefully restored with unique charm. My husband and I loved it! We had our computers, but guess what, we didn't take them out of the cases! The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the continental breakfast that came with the room, and liked the dining area. There are small touches like a puzzle-in-progress in the lobby, 1930s music playing softly, and the beautiful tiled floor and original lighting fixtures in the lobby. We loved the room, its furnishings and the views of the mountains. We usually stay in upscale chain hotels and this one of a kind, out in the middle of vast West Texas is a treat. We will book a room there the next time we travel that way--or maybe just travel that way to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladywhotravels010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Just 2 blocks from the I-10, This hotel is just renovated, the rooms are beutifully decorated. The fluffy towels a pleasure! The breakfast also an unexpected pleasure, the only think I objected to is the paper cups :) if on a road trip this is a must not the chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellez_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I was driving cross country with a friend that was moving from San Francisco to Miami and we made it to Van Horn, TX before stopping for the night. All of the chain hotels were filled and were told that the Hotel El Capitan had rooms. We had seen the hotel sign from the road but didn't consider it initially as we were looking for a chain hotel. Once inside, we realized how lucky we were. The 36 room hotel had just gone through a total renovation. It was clean and cozy with updated rooms and baths. I felt like we were in a fine hotel in New York as opposed to Van Horn, TX. Take my advise, if ever in Van Horn for business or pleasure, pass up the chains and stay at the Hotel El Capitan. The rate was actually cheaper than the chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

The El Capitan is what I think of when I hear the song Hotel Califonia, at least the style of the building. It was great. We got the teo balcony rooms right below the El Capitan neon sign. They were very nice. The courtyard has a fountain and several tables were many patrons were sitting enjoying a glass of wine as the sun set on this town. The lobby and sitting areas are classic old Texas style. Very comfortable. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neepman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

The El Capitan is a nice older hotel that was recently refurbished and updated. The rooms are small but very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. That's the good news. The bad news is that the hotel is located across the street from some railroad tracks, and several trains come through town each night, each sounding its horn as it goes by! There are no "anti-slam" mechanisms on the guestroom doors, so you hear doors slamming at all hours. The wireless internet access does not work in most guest rooms. And the continental breakfast is pretty skimpy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ-Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
262 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Whitten Inn
Whitten Inn
#13 of 14 in Van Horn
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Capitan

Property: Hotel El Capitan
Address: 100 E. Broadway, PO Box 667, Van Horn, TX 79855-0667
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel El Capitan is the only historic hotel in Van Horn. The hotel was established in 1930 and built by the famous Trost & Trost architecture firm of Texas. The owners of the hotel are native born Texans and have established a reputation for buying and restoring historic inns in Far West Texas. The hotel is on the Texas Mountain Trail as well as the crossroads of the Guadalupe Mountains and the Big Bend National Parks off Interstate 10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel El Capitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing