We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton is a good choice in Van Horn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed on Honors points recently, so no comment on value. This was a nicely maintained, fairly new property. A step above other "value" hotels, and looked better than anything else I saw in this town. Front desk staff was friendly. Good for runners - I found a trail right outside the front door that went forever in the desert.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longtimeresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 619 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have severe arthritis. I have stayed at this hotel several times. It has easy access to get in and out. Close by handicap parking. Accessable room is great bars are in the correct location shower is easy in and out. Staff is always kind and easy to work with knowledgeable about the community. Easy access to I20. Reasonable prices as compared to west Texas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

OK - big furniture in a small room is not a good idea. This room was crazy. No closet so a wardrobe was added to the already tight room. Only a queen bed (no king when I booked, probably wouldn't fit). The bed was comfortable. The walls were so thin that you could hear everything in both adjoining rooms. The staff was very friendly and the view of the mountains is nice. If you need to stay in Van Horn - there are many options. For a small town it seems to have mostly motels.

Room Tip: I looked at other rooms being cleaned and they all seemed to have the same cramped arrangement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueMC_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Van Horn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

We apologize that your room was not up to your expectations during your stay at our hotel. As we consider refreshing options we will keep opinions like yours in mind. The next time you are in the area we hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

did not feel this property was up to Hampton standard...layout, general feel of hotel...rooms were ok(furniture seemed inferior) , but rest felt like a cheap imitation. Business center was closed early evening and next day too

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 139shirleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Van Horn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your guest suite. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We always try to stay in a Hampton Inn when we can find one, but I can only assume that the manager of this place is relying on the brand name to bring in guests in spite of their (mis)treatment. As another reviewer notes, the price was over $168 plus tax- for Van Horn, for heavens sake. The elevator was not working (I need a cane to walk), the desk clerk was fed up with her new trainee and could barely be civil. Small town, small choice, but the Ramada Inn or the hotel in town would be better choices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterton1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Van Horn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We apologize that our elevator did not work during your stay, we strive to provide the best in service and amenities at our hotel. We understand how frustrating it can be and we are addressing the other issues you mentioned. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times, all different employees every time. The staff is awesome though. You can see the ones there really care about making guest happy. The manager goes above and beyond, she just talked to me like I was her only guest. She's a great asset

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Texasnluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Extortionate price for below average accommodation Because of the location (not great in the middle of nowhere) I chose this place because it takes dogs and I thought (mistakenly) that at the price $168+ with tax that this would be a great place to stay. They boost about breakfast (below average). I am surprised that Hilton whom I mostly like and often use would advertise hey own these properties.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Van Horn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your review. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests; actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review as it provides valuable feedback. The next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us at again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#11 of 14 in Van Horn
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Van Horn
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn of Van Horn
Quality Inn of Van Horn
#5 of 14 in Van Horn
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Van Horn

Address: 1921 SW Frontage Road, Van Horn, TX 79855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range: $113 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Van Horn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near local businesses and corporations, our pet-friendly hotel offers an indoor heated pool and hot tub. We also have a complimentary full hot breakfast guaranteed to fill your belly and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel to keep you connected. We have an onsite business center for all your business needs, as well as a fitness center to help work off some of that amazing breakfast. We look forward "wowing" you with our customer service and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Van Horn Hotel Van Horn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing