We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TV didn't work, water didn't work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TV didn't work, water didn't work”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We chose this place because it is the newest place in a town with relatively few choices. The rates were much higher that other motels in Van Horn.
The TV didn't work, and the water went off in the morning, when we were trying to leave. We had to check out without a shower. To make matters worse, the person at the front desk said that she couldn't adjust the (already very high) rate due to some technicality that made no sense.
I will never stay here again.

Don P

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donp771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
623JessicaB, General Manager at Hampton Inn Van Horn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I do apologize for you not being happy with your stay with us. I spoke with you directly & offered to move you rooms for the TV issues you declined. Water was only off in the hotel for approx. 3 minutes before our pumps kicked in, the entire town was without for over 4 hours. We did send you a certificate for the inconvenience. Our rates are based upon we are a new property & not a small drive up motel that Van Horn offers. Our property offers many extras other properties here do not. We work very hard at accommodating every guest....if you have any other issues feel free to email me at vhnfr_hampton@hilton.com. Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    166
    85
    64
    23
See reviews for
214
192
70
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the Hampton Inn, Van Horn. As luck would have it the power to the entire town went out while we were there. Hotel staff did their very best to make guests comfortable in this situation i.e. provided free water cookies etc. Power came back on around 11:00 PM and we were sent on our way with a nice breakfast in the morning. We stayed in several Hamptons on this trip and all were a "cut above".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
623JessicaB, General Manager at Hampton Inn Van Horn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for the great response. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to seeing you again if you are ever through Van Horn again. I hope we have no storms then ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A great night's stay. Excellent breakfast in the morning. Clean and helpful staff. Would highly recommend this hotel to friends and stay there again in future travel. The pillows and bed were very comfortable. The swimming pool did close a little to early for us but overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were doing a long drive across Texas to visit my sister in Phoenix when we chose to stay in Van Horn. Picking the Hampton Inn was a start to a great nights sleep. The hotel is a real gem. The rooms were so clean and the breakfast was very good. Gave us a great start to our drive the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masttrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Loved this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone passing through. My only regret was we did not have time to stay longer and use all the facilities, from the work out room to the wonderful pool. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESQUITE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

AWESOME grass areas, VERY well maintained! This is top priority for me as I always travel with my dogs. I was so happy to find a hotel with grass to exercise my dogs instead of the usual sticker & weed areas so common to the west Texas area. Comfortable, well appointed clean room, ample well-lit parking and professional friendly staff. For dinner there are multiple choices, both fast food and sit-down. I highly recommend Chuy's Mexican which is close, easy to get to and from & well priced. Breakfast at the hotel well exceeded expectations with omelets, sausage & waffles as well as fruit, cereal & juices. All in all a great stay and I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank IRA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were driving to California and needed to find a place in west Texas to stay the night. I usually stay at a Hilton, always if at all possible. I found this hotel to be quiet, clean, and overall, an excellent place to spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Van Horn
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whitten Inn
Whitten Inn
#13 of 14 in Van Horn
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Van Horn

Property: Hampton Inn Van Horn
Address: 1921 SW Frontage Road, Van Horn, TX 79855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Van Horn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near local businesses and corporations, our pet-friendly hotel offers an indoor heated pool and hot tub. We also have a complimentary full hot breakfast guaranteed to fill your belly and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel to keep you connected. We have an onsite business center for all your business needs, as well as a fitness center to help work off some of that amazing breakfast. We look forward "wowing" you with our customer service and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Van Horn Hotel Van Horn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing