We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to stay in Van Horn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn of Van Horn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Great Place to stay in Van Horn”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stopped here on our way home from Austin to Tucson. On our way to San Antonio we had stayed at El Capitan with negative experience so were looking for an alternative. This is a great place in Van Horn. The staff on both the day and morning shift was phenomenal - very friendly and helpful in every way. Although this is an older hotel the rooms were very clean and the bed most comfortable. Breakfast was the usual continental with some hot items and served in a nicely furnished breakfast/reception area. The only reason I am not rating this a 5 is that the exterior could use some maintenance, especially refurbishing the stairwells. Linens and towels are a bit old but were immaculately clean and fresh. This is a great value and we will be stopping here again in the fall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,
It's wonderful to hear such positive feedback from you. It's our staffs main priority to take great care of our guests. As you mentioned about the stairs, I have brought it to my GMs attention. We are in the process of doing small renovations here and there. So by the next time you stay with us you'll see some improvements. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a nice review and we can't wait to see y'all on your next trip. You have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
49
61
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed twice on our 12 day driving trip over the Christmas holiday. It was fine, older. We chose to stay here the second time instead of paying $50.00 more for Hampton Inn. The heater had crumbs in it, so I wondered about the cleanliness. The second night a worker came by at 9:20 pm and brought us a little "gift". Seemed kind of late to knock on a guest door to give us a bottle of water and a couple small snacks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We apologize for the inconvenience. We do our best to provide a clean, comfortable stay here at the Quality Inn, and are always open to hear of any problems you have faced while staying here so that we can address and fix the problems immediately. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope to see y'all again when passing through Van Horn, Tx. Have a wonderful day!


Front desk assistant,
Samantha McGann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stopped here overnight on our way from Phoenix and San Antonio. We just wanted a place to sleep before heading out again. This place met the qualifications, it was very clean and quiet, despite being on the freeway and the large number of semis stopped for the night in the Chevron lots next door. Friendly staff and a good place to stop for the night.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in the back, away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
As a hotel business we are greatly satisfied to hear such wonderful feedback from those who have stayed with us. Our staff do their absolute best in making our guests feel welcomed. We hope we made a great lasting impression on y'all and would love to see you guys again next time your passing through Van Horn, Tx. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Have a happy new years!

Front desk assistant,

Samantha M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is clean and well kept. Beds were a bit soft for our liking but pillows were good. Fridge (with a small freezer compartment even), microwave, and coffee maker in room. McDonalds within walking distance. Doors on outside but everything was well lit and felt safe. Only 2 stories but note for anyone with disabilities - no elevator. Phones in rooms inoperable since the last ice storm, but wifi worked well. They do charge you upon arrival for the total cost of your stay (asked cash or charge upon arrival - didn't know hotels take cash anymore...). Desk staff was friendly and polite.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LibraryLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us. As a business our staff do their very best to keep our guests here satisfied and happy when they return back home. If you have any suggestions please let us know. We would like to make each stay here more pleasant than the last time. Once again thank you for leaving us a nice review and being understanding of our conditions, we should have the problems you faced while you were here fixed. We hope to see y'all the next time you pass through Van Horn, Tx. Thank you!

Front desk,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night on my fourth and final stay in Van Horn. I had previously stayed in the Hampton to earn HH points in my prior 3 stays, but since this stay was only one night, I didn't think the cost of the Hampton was worth one night of HH points.

I was lucky enough to leave early in the morning just before a major ice storm hit, where the interstate was closed, all hotels were filled, and room rates skyrocketed.

I was really pleased with the Quality Inn. The rooms are larger and more comfortable than the Hampton, and better laid-out. My room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is not interior-access, but this is Van Horn, not the 'Hood, so I didn't feel unsafe. Besides, where would any potential criminal hide or flee out here, behind a tumbleweed or stone in the desert?

I would rate the breakfast a notch or two below the Hampton, but it was still an adequate breakfast.

All in all, I'd give a good recommendation. Much cheaper than the nearby Hampton, and not close to the RR tracks like most of the Van Horn hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gideon_Krasmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Texas and for the compliment about our service, facilities and cleanliness. It's much appreciated!. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay at our Hotel. Our Goal is to provide great customer care and in doing that we also aim to make the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Texas as enjoyable and comfortable for each and every one of our guest. We truly appreciate the feedback. If you ever come out this way again it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again! Thank you once again!

Krish Patel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Van Horn is the mid-point between Phoenix and Houston and the perfect spot to rest from a day of driving. We typically stay at another local hotel, but decided to give Quality Inn a try. We were not disappointed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean spacious room. Comfortable bed. Great value for the price. We stayed here both going to and leaving Phoenix. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17NancyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback and comments, it just motivates us to do better everyday. We look forward to seeing you soon!


Thank you,

Krish Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I don't enjoy leaving reviews to any hotels but the experience at this motel made me think to write something about them.Just booked one night here as we were heading to Dallas,Tx and looked forward to it so much after reading all the good reviews from other reviewers. Our visit by far exceeded our expectations!! From arrival to departure the experience was great. In my opinion the hotel quite exceeds the hype. The service, food and accommodation were all quite superlative.Staff makes a huge effort to remember guests names and to make your stay a memorable experience. It is true that its an old facility and all but its well maintained and clean. Mentioning, it is going through little renovation in vending area which was little messy but there was an apology note on the door. So that's was okay. Breakfast was a big surprise to me since I wasn't expecting much to be more than coffee and pastries. But "WOW", it proved me wrong. We enjoyed the breakfast very very much and a conversation with the breakfast attendant "Ms. Dolores",who ran it. She was fantastic in keeping it stocked while maintaining cleanliness in the breakfast room. This place and the people won our heart by making us feel important then anything else.

We loved our experience here and if you are visiting Van Horn, you must plan for at least a day stay here If passing by.This is not a five star luxury hotel so don't expect waking up with a chocolates in your bed and roses on your doorsteps. Mainly what we liked most was they do know Hospitality means. Thank you guyz @ quality inn and Happy Thanksgiving in advnance !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Texas and for the compliment about our service, facilities and cleanliness. It's much appreciated! Our Goal is to have a great hotel that guest love and we are focusing on providing guest customer care. We truly appreciate the feedback as well and the compliments given to our staff. If you ever come out this way again it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again! Thank you once again,

Krish Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
600 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Van Horn
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn of Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn of Van Horn

Property: Quality Inn of Van Horn
Address: 1905 SW Frontage Rd, P.O. Box 1120, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn of Van Horn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn of Van Horn Hotel is equidistant from Tucson, Dallas and San Antonio conveniently located off Interstate 10 at exit # 138 in West Texas. When coming from the west, take the exit and stay to the right; when coming from the east, go left under bridge and the hotel is off to the right. There are fast food restaurants within two blocks. Gas & convenience store next door and restaurants within 1 mile. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary "Q Corner" hot breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new "Q Corner" breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs/scrambled eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage(turkey or bacon), sausage and gravy, biscuits, cinnamon rolls hot cereal.. Visit Van Horn, TX and Stay at the Quality Inn. No elevators, just stairway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn of Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Horn Hotel Van Horn
Holiday Inn Van Horn
Van Horn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing