We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel near outskirts of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn of Van Horn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean hotel near outskirts of town”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is clean and well kept. Beds were a bit soft for our liking but pillows were good. Fridge (with a small freezer compartment even), microwave, and coffee maker in room. McDonalds within walking distance. Doors on outside but everything was well lit and felt safe. Only 2 stories but note for anyone with disabilities - no elevator. Phones in rooms inoperable since the last ice storm, but wifi worked well. They do charge you upon arrival for the total cost of your stay (asked cash or charge upon arrival - didn't know hotels take cash anymore...). Desk staff was friendly and polite.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LibraryLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us. As a business our staff do their very best to keep our guests here satisfied and happy when they return back home. If you have any suggestions please let us know. We would like to make each stay here more pleasant than the last time. Once again thank you for leaving us a nice review and being understanding of our conditions, we should have the problems you faced while you were here fixed. We hope to see y'all the next time you pass through Van Horn, Tx. Thank you!

Front desk,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
49
61
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night on my fourth and final stay in Van Horn. I had previously stayed in the Hampton to earn HH points in my prior 3 stays, but since this stay was only one night, I didn't think the cost of the Hampton was worth one night of HH points.

I was lucky enough to leave early in the morning just before a major ice storm hit, where the interstate was closed, all hotels were filled, and room rates skyrocketed.

I was really pleased with the Quality Inn. The rooms are larger and more comfortable than the Hampton, and better laid-out. My room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is not interior-access, but this is Van Horn, not the 'Hood, so I didn't feel unsafe. Besides, where would any potential criminal hide or flee out here, behind a tumbleweed or stone in the desert?

I would rate the breakfast a notch or two below the Hampton, but it was still an adequate breakfast.

All in all, I'd give a good recommendation. Much cheaper than the nearby Hampton, and not close to the RR tracks like most of the Van Horn hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gideon_Krasmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Texas and for the compliment about our service, facilities and cleanliness. It's much appreciated!. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay at our Hotel. Our Goal is to provide great customer care and in doing that we also aim to make the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Texas as enjoyable and comfortable for each and every one of our guest. We truly appreciate the feedback. If you ever come out this way again it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again! Thank you once again!

Krish Patel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Van Horn is the mid-point between Phoenix and Houston and the perfect spot to rest from a day of driving. We typically stay at another local hotel, but decided to give Quality Inn a try. We were not disappointed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean spacious room. Comfortable bed. Great value for the price. We stayed here both going to and leaving Phoenix. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17NancyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback and comments, it just motivates us to do better everyday. We look forward to seeing you soon!


Thank you,

Krish Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I don't enjoy leaving reviews to any hotels but the experience at this motel made me think to write something about them.Just booked one night here as we were heading to Dallas,Tx and looked forward to it so much after reading all the good reviews from other reviewers. Our visit by far exceeded our expectations!! From arrival to departure the experience was great. In my opinion the hotel quite exceeds the hype. The service, food and accommodation were all quite superlative.Staff makes a huge effort to remember guests names and to make your stay a memorable experience. It is true that its an old facility and all but its well maintained and clean. Mentioning, it is going through little renovation in vending area which was little messy but there was an apology note on the door. So that's was okay. Breakfast was a big surprise to me since I wasn't expecting much to be more than coffee and pastries. But "WOW", it proved me wrong. We enjoyed the breakfast very very much and a conversation with the breakfast attendant "Ms. Dolores",who ran it. She was fantastic in keeping it stocked while maintaining cleanliness in the breakfast room. This place and the people won our heart by making us feel important then anything else.

We loved our experience here and if you are visiting Van Horn, you must plan for at least a day stay here If passing by.This is not a five star luxury hotel so don't expect waking up with a chocolates in your bed and roses on your doorsteps. Mainly what we liked most was they do know Hospitality means. Thank you guyz @ quality inn and Happy Thanksgiving in advnance !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Texas and for the compliment about our service, facilities and cleanliness. It's much appreciated! Our Goal is to have a great hotel that guest love and we are focusing on providing guest customer care. We truly appreciate the feedback as well and the compliments given to our staff. If you ever come out this way again it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again! Thank you once again,

Krish Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel Turned my from upside down. My family of three had to find a last minute hotel, and it was just what we need it. The receptionist was Amazing and helpful, the rooms were outstanding, with flat tv's ....... and the breakfast was perfect. They receptionist even gave us a few numbers of locations that deliver late night food. The location is perfect when you are driving to El Paso Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartolo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Thank you,
Samantha McGann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Only good things to day about this place. The staff was friendly and accomodating, and the room was clean and very comfortable.
I really appreciated the quiet atmosphere during the night, and thought the hotel facilities were good.
Excellent pricing, will definitely return on upcoming business trips.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is our goal to make every guest feel loved, wanted and appreciated. We would not be here if it were not for our valued guests. We use the feedback we get to make improvements wherever needed .Good to hear you were able to enjoy many of the options we offer our guest, a clean room some great food in morning breakfast, Hi-Def TV Channels and etc.We look forward to another visit from you and wish you safe travels. See you soon and thanks once more the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It came with tvs in the bedroom and sitting area.

Breakfast was the usual fare, but it did include some hot items such as scrambled eggs , they were a nice addition to the usual cold items. I was able to make my own waffle.

The staff was pleasant. The room was large and clean, and I thought well priced. I do not expect to be back to Texas in the near future, but I would stay here again.

Good Management and staff are really so helpful in all ways.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesicca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
598 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 14 in Van Horn
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn of Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn of Van Horn

Property: Quality Inn of Van Horn
Address: 1905 SW Frontage Rd, P.O. Box 1120, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn of Van Horn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn of Van Horn Hotel is equidistant from Tucson, Dallas and San Antonio conveniently located off Interstate 10 at exit # 138 in West Texas. When coming from the west, take the exit and stay to the right; when coming from the east, go left under bridge and the hotel is off to the right. There are fast food restaurants within two blocks. Gas & convenience store next door and restaurants within 1 mile. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary "Q Corner" hot breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new "Q Corner" breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs/scrambled eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage(turkey or bacon), sausage and gravy, biscuits, cinnamon rolls hot cereal.. Visit Van Horn, TX and Stay at the Quality Inn. No elevators, just stairway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn of Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Horn Hotel Van Horn
Holiday Inn Van Horn
Van Horn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing