We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn of Van Horn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's was ok”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed her on business and it was just ok. I have to say the staff was nice,friendly and helpful. I did have flys in the room with me ( some where living and some where dead). As I was getting into my car to check out and leave one of the housekeepers was starring at me. She didn't even look away when I looked at her. I don't know she was starring at me like that. At least the front desk was nice to me. I don't think I will stay there if I'm going to get stared down when I'm leaving. Check out was at 11. I was leaving at 830 am so I know I gave her time to clean

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post , we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.Also, accept my strong apologies for the little awkward behavior by our housekeeper.We would like you to return and give us a one more chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    43
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
49
61
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 week touring vacation of southern states in the U.S. 1 night of which we spent at the Quality Inn, Van Horn, Texas.

We had done a fair amount of research as to where to stay in Van Horn, somewhere peaceful and quiet after a long drive, difficult to find in Van Horn as most motels are next to the Interstate.

Location:

Situated upon the frontage road alongside of the I 10 Interstate Highway.

Arrival:

Upon arrival at the motel, we were greeted by an efficient and attentive young man, quite helpful, he had us quickly checked in, and we were in our room in no time at all.

The Room:

Reasonable - average size for type of motel, comfortable, clean, the air conditioner a little noisy. Tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge and the added bonus of a microwave oven, to complement this were two comfortable Queen size beds. Attached ensuite bathroom also clean, good supply of soap, shampoo etc.

Food & Drink

No restaurant attached to this motel, breakfast was included, not taken however as needed to be on the road early. Motel is conveniently located in Van Horn near to the McDonalds, just a few minutes walk from the motel.

Conclusion

Good average motel, worth the stay just for the location alone, next to the I 10 Interstate. The Ritz it isn't, but, if you are looking for somewhere clean, centrally located then this is the place for you. Would I stay here again? absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for room nearer the back of the motel, quieter, away from the interstate and railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you for such a nice post. Our entire staff aims to please each of our guests . We look forward to your visits and always try to assist in anyway possible . After all, we want our guests to feel like family and enjoy long lasting memories with us. Thank you again for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The room was ok but pricey. It was clean & everything worked. The 2 negative things were that the power went off while I was in the shower, thankfully it was restored quickly. Also, the bathroom ceiling had started to buckle from water damage over the shower head. There had to have been a leak from the room above as we were on the first floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cutemel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We would like to take this time to personally thank you for the recent post. We take all of our guests comments and concerns seriously. We have fixed the ceiling leak and a needed correction with that specific room. Thank you again for the feedback and understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here 2 summers in a row. For the exact same price, the new hotel chain has made a lot of cutbacks...The hearty omelettes are gone. The Texas sized cinnamon rolls are gone. It's still a decent place to stay, and from westside rooms you can't hear any traffic or railroad. Yet, somehow, I feel cheated. I didn't like that some non-guests drove up and used the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to serve you on your last stay. We appreciated the comments in regards to your visit and would like to apologize for the issues during your stay with us. We have been through brand changes few months ago and we are a part of Choice Hotels Worldwide now.Choice Hotels has there own strict standard set for serving a breakfast which we do serve mandatory.Also, Choice Hotels are looking forward to make a a little change in the breakfast in near future by adding some more hot and healthy items.However, nothing has been confirmed or approved yet.Again, sorry for not meeting up with your expectation on the breakfast.We would love to serve you again in the future if you happen to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here two nights while visiting the Guadalupe Mountains National Park in room 117. For what we wanted on this leg of the trip, this motel hit all the benchmarks. The room is located toward the back of the motel and was very quiet. No freeway or train noise to speak of. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower is a tub/shower combination where the shower was particularly good. Good volume, good pressure and once set, no variation in water temperature. The only minor problem we had was when we returned to our room the second evening the key cards didn't work. This was immediately fixed. The hotel provides a continental breakfast similar to most Choice Hotels that includes make-your-own waffles, yogurt, cereal, etc. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room toward the back, away from the freeway should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holloman AFB, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Located on I-10 a few miles west of the I-10/I-20 junction, Van Horn, Texas, is a time-capsule village connecting the historic past of this southwest desert region with the 21st century cities of San Antonio, El Paso, and the Permian Basin. Among a variety of accommodations available, the Quality Inn stands out as a sweet surprise. Recently under new ownership and management, this Choice Hotel property is a traveller's delight. The rooms are clean and excellently appointed with some of the most comfortable beds to be found anywere, at any price. Friendliness and professionality are hallmarks of the staff and management woven together with many little personal touches. We have had the opportunity to stay there on numerous occasions and have sometimes been greeted at check-in with the sweet treat of homemade cookies! For anyone travelling to or through Van Horn, Texas, the Quality Inn is an oasis not to be missed.

Room Tip: Take your pick. . .every room we've stayed in was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakoComa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on you recent stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Again thank you for you comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Easy access to interstate. We considered staying at a more expensive place but just for a place to sleep it seemed like a lot to pay, so we decided to try this place. Very attentive staff, clean room, nice breakfast. Shower/toilet room so tiny and no place to put anything. Also i'm not a fan of having bathroom sink and vanity part of the main sleeping area. What is with the trend to those tiny bed pillows i've seen now in a few hotels? Bring back the standard size ones! All in all, for convenience, friendliness and cleanliness, i would recommend. Oh yes, fridge and microwave in room and wi-fi too. Ask for a room toward the back, away from noise of busy interstate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanaz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment in regards to your visit at our hotel. We have gone over the areas of concern and are working towards the needed improvements mentioned by you regarding the size of a pillow which will be discussed in the next regional meeting. We are glad to hear that you were happy with the rest of the stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
603 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
68 reviews
1.9 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 14 in Van Horn
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn of Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn of Van Horn

Property: Quality Inn of Van Horn
Address: 1905 SW Frontage Rd, P.O. Box 1120, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn of Van Horn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn of Van Horn Hotel is equidistant from Tucson, Dallas and San Antonio conveniently located off Interstate 10 at exit # 138 in West Texas. When coming from the west, take the exit and stay to the right; when coming from the east, go left under bridge and the hotel is off to the right. There are fast food restaurants within two blocks. Gas & convenience store next door and restaurants within 1 mile. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary "Q Corner" hot breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new "Q Corner" breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs/scrambled eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage(turkey or bacon), sausage and gravy, biscuits, cinnamon rolls hot cereal.. Visit Van Horn, TX and Stay at the Quality Inn. No elevators, just stairway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn of Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Horn Hotel Van Horn
Holiday Inn Van Horn
Van Horn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing