We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Van Horn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn of Van Horn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“A good choice in Van Horn”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here two nights while visiting the Guadalupe Mountains National Park in room 117. For what we wanted on this leg of the trip, this motel hit all the benchmarks. The room is located toward the back of the motel and was very quiet. No freeway or train noise to speak of. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower is a tub/shower combination where the shower was particularly good. Good volume, good pressure and once set, no variation in water temperature. The only minor problem we had was when we returned to our room the second evening the key cards didn't work. This was immediately fixed. The hotel provides a continental breakfast similar to most Choice Hotels that includes make-your-own waffles, yogurt, cereal, etc. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room toward the back, away from the freeway should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
49
61
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holloman AFB, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Located on I-10 a few miles west of the I-10/I-20 junction, Van Horn, Texas, is a time-capsule village connecting the historic past of this southwest desert region with the 21st century cities of San Antonio, El Paso, and the Permian Basin. Among a variety of accommodations available, the Quality Inn stands out as a sweet surprise. Recently under new ownership and management, this Choice Hotel property is a traveller's delight. The rooms are clean and excellently appointed with some of the most comfortable beds to be found anywere, at any price. Friendliness and professionality are hallmarks of the staff and management woven together with many little personal touches. We have had the opportunity to stay there on numerous occasions and have sometimes been greeted at check-in with the sweet treat of homemade cookies! For anyone travelling to or through Van Horn, Texas, the Quality Inn is an oasis not to be missed.

Room Tip: Take your pick. . .every room we've stayed in was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakoComa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on you recent stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Again thank you for you comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Easy access to interstate. We considered staying at a more expensive place but just for a place to sleep it seemed like a lot to pay, so we decided to try this place. Very attentive staff, clean room, nice breakfast. Shower/toilet room so tiny and no place to put anything. Also i'm not a fan of having bathroom sink and vanity part of the main sleeping area. What is with the trend to those tiny bed pillows i've seen now in a few hotels? Bring back the standard size ones! All in all, for convenience, friendliness and cleanliness, i would recommend. Oh yes, fridge and microwave in room and wi-fi too. Ask for a room toward the back, away from noise of busy interstate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanaz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, General Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment in regards to your visit at our hotel. We have gone over the areas of concern and are working towards the needed improvements mentioned by you regarding the size of a pillow which will be discussed in the next regional meeting. We are glad to hear that you were happy with the rest of the stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, de
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Staff was very friendly and understanding I travel for work and needed to check in early they found me another room in moments and had me checked in. Breakfast was included, it was fantastic. Flavor yogurt, Sausage,Gravy, Biscuits, Omelets, Waffle etc - plenty of selection to start your day before getting on the steering wheel. Room was very spot on clean, bed was very very very comfortable which was the right feel, Furniture was a little old but as other reviewers has mentioned they do are working on improving the quality off the place from outside.I would consider this hotel again and would recommend to other travelers as well.Good Luck Quality Inn on future renovations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivehurst, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were traveling through Texas and were tired so thought we would stop in Van Horn instead of going further. Being a small town, we didn't expect the accommodations to be that great. However we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were nice and very clean. They also had refrigerator and microwave. The room was very comfortable and the people were very nice. The breakfast was very well supplied with many selections and everything was very clean. The manager went out of his way to be nice and make sure your accommodations were great. If you are going through Van Horn, stop at the Quality Inn there. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORNAD106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

On our way to florida through texas, we stopped by the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Tx. I am very impressed. The Quality Inn was much much cleaner, free wifi, top knotch free breakfast, Flat screen tv, Refrigerator and sink. From here on, I am staying at Quality Inns.The manager and staff went out of their way just to make sure we got the same rate as the on line special. The staff respected all our wishes and provided all our necessities . Nice stay , very comfortable and recommended to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mai_Nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

After long day driving stopped in to Van Horn for the night and picked the Quality Inn as our hotel for the night even though we had no booking got excellent rate and super fast check in by friendly staff member on duty.
Breakfast next morning had everything we needed and we were back on the road in no time at all with easy access to the I-10.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiebill42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
603 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Days Inn Van Horn TX
#12 of 14 in Van Horn
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
67 reviews
1.9 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#6 of 14 in Van Horn
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 14 in Van Horn
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn of Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn of Van Horn

Property: Quality Inn of Van Horn
Address: 1905 SW Frontage Rd, P.O. Box 1120, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn of Van Horn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn of Van Horn Hotel is equidistant from Tucson, Dallas and San Antonio conveniently located off Interstate 10 at exit # 138 in West Texas. When coming from the west, take the exit and stay to the right; when coming from the east, go left under bridge and the hotel is off to the right. There are fast food restaurants within two blocks. Gas & convenience store next door and restaurants within 1 mile. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary "Q Corner" hot breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new "Q Corner" breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs/scrambled eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage(turkey or bacon), sausage and gravy, biscuits, cinnamon rolls hot cereal.. Visit Van Horn, TX and Stay at the Quality Inn. No elevators, just stairway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn of Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Horn Hotel Van Horn
Holiday Inn Van Horn
Van Horn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing