We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Van Horn TX
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
1happytravlers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Full of suprises. The room smelled, comforter had holes, hair in ice bucket and in the shower. In the morning there was a tick crawling down the shower curtain. Perhaps there weren't as many because of the lizard that ran out from under the bed. Nice chair and ottoman in the room but wouldn't sit on it because of stains and dirt. towels were very scratchy and carpet old, stained and coming off the baseboard. Poorly maintained is generous. We decided to pass on the free breakfast out of caution due to the room. Also suprised they have the Days Inn Marquee given the low standards

Room Tip: best room is at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1happytravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    51
    65
    43
    54
See reviews for
92
69
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very friendly staff. Pretty much a standard Days Inn experience. I like the fact that I could park right by the room. Iffy wifi. I would stay there again. Check out the steak house for a place to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WALTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days inn v, Manager at Days Inn Van Horn TX, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
hello mr. walter. we are sorry to hear you had trouble with wifi,
we have done some work on it after you stay and it's in very good condition.
thank you for your kind words and we appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmaduke, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We traveled longer that day than we wanted. We drove up to the first motel we say and rented a room. We were pleasantly surprised to find an older clean room that had been well maintained. We received good value for the budget price. Staff was nice and the breakfast was better than any budget motel I have ever stayed. Got lucky.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days inn v, Manager at Days Inn Van Horn TX, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
thank you for your review,
we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were forced to stay in Van Horn due an ice storm and the closure of I 10. The staff was very helpful with directions to a restaurant and the next morning to a grocery store.
The hotel is old and a bit run down. There were holes in the bedspreads, but the beds were clean and comfortable.
Staff was overwhelmed with the crowd for breakfast, but did an excellent job trying to feed everyone.
Power went out during the night, but that was the storm and not the hotel's problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days inn v, Manager at Days Inn Van Horn TX, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
thank you for kind words,
seriously it was very bad days with weather and power outage.
but we tried our best to serve all at same time.
we very much appreciate you review and give us strength.

thank you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I felt like I was visiting someone's home. I was greeted with a smile and a room already prepared and assigned -- close to the office and breakfast room. The room was very clean and furnished for comfort and convenience. I wanted to spend some time reading and studying, and the desk and the lighting was great!
The breakfast was delicious with lots more to choose from than I needed. Day's Inn Van Horn will definitely be my choice next time I travel their way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days inn v, Manager at Days Inn Van Horn TX, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
hello dear ann,
we are glad you were happy with you stay, thats are motto to make everyone stay comfortable.
we greatly apriciate your excellent review on tripadviser. thank you again ann.
have a good day. god bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here years ago,i always write down good hotels in a book so i'll know where to stay if i'm in the area,i wrote this one down and gave it great reviews,but checking in tonight i'm going to change it.The room is okay but the there's food or something next to the bed the box springs are stained i tried to open the window it almost fell on me and there aren't any screens,so that's not safe,and the girl at the front has an attitude had to go back for wash cloth's and she acted like i stole her purse or something.Won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txangelique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days inn v, Manager at Days Inn Van Horn TX, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
hello, thank you for taking and let us about your experience. we have worked on the issues and took necessary actions. accept our apologies for our worker's behavior with you. i can assure you that it won't happen again. we thank you for your business with us. we hope you give us one more chance in your future trip. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have not stayed at a Days Inn for a long time. Why? Other hotel/motels were more convenient at that time.
Our stay at the Days Inn, Van Horn was nice. The room was simple but had space to walk around. What I missed was a desk chair at the desk to work on my computer. There was only one normal chair in the room.
I had problems connecting my laptop to the internet. The owner stopped by and was a big help.
He got it up and running.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying overnight in Van Horn. Thanks.

Room Tip: No Comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valkje42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
days inn v, Manager at Days Inn Van Horn TX, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
hello dear guest,
thanks very much for taking time and giving us review over tripadviser.
and please accept out apologies for not having desk chair in room. our staff already have took care of this matter. we thank you for your comments for us and we hope to see you in again.
have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Van Horn hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Van Horn
Hampton Inn Van Horn
#2 of 14 in Van Horn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
Red Roof Inn Van Horn
#10 of 14 in Van Horn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#5 of 14 in Van Horn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Van Horn
1.7 mi away
Whitten Inn
Whitten Inn
#13 of 14 in Van Horn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#9 of 14 in Van Horn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Van Horn TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Van Horn TX

Property: Days Inn Van Horn TX
Address: 600 East Broadway, I-10 @ Exit 140 B, Van Horn, TX 79855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Van Horn TX 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Van Horn TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Van Horn
Van Horn Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing