We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis Outback --More than a Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oasis Outback

Oasis Outback
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Uvalde
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis Outback --More than a Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The food and service has always been wonderful. The large salad bar is fresh, the food is hot and tasty, and the service could not be better. Before dining or afterwards, the Oasis has a "dream-come-true" sporting goods area and a clothing family clothing section you have to see to believe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesP3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sour Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been dining here since it opened and we try to go at least once when we visit the hill country. The salad bar is very good with fresh selections and many extras. I like the fried catfish and I ask for it well done. The service is usually good and staff is friendly. It is very crowded for lunch so try to go early.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Salad Bar in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Oasis is located in a Outdoor sporting good store. Kinda like a small version of a Bass Pro Shop. Walk in and the restaurant is located to the right.
Seat yourself and waitress dressed in a Outback t-shirt and jeans comes by to offer you some menus and asks for your drinks. I always get the salad bar because its fresh and there is a huge variety along with soup also.
I have ordered a chicken fried steak and a two meat barbeque plate in the past and they have both been very good, but I just like the salad bar most of the time because its fresh and its the best in town.
G. Manager Richard Luna is always friendly and attentive and he usually comes by to the table to say Hello. If he cant stop by he always acknowledges my family with a smile and a wave.
The temperature is always nice and cool which is a super plus in Texas and the store is great too. I always like to look at their fishing equipment and rifles after eating a salad.
If you have ever been to Uvalde you know there aren't a whole lot of clean friendly places to eat....this place is in the top 5 for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 669MikeH669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackettville, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Salad Bar Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have reviewed this before and nothing has changed. All this place needs is a good wine menu and evening hours. Excellent barbeque, fish and soup. Their is the best salad bar. Go early for lunch it fills up fast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awful. FYI this cafeteria style restaurant is in a sporting goods store”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here to eat lunch on our trip out West. The place was packed with locals but the food here was not good. This is a cafeteria style restaurant in the middle of a sporting goods store. The burgers were bad and the chicken fried steak was bad. Most of the food seemed to come out of a can or box. The chicken was okay though. I would not eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thewoodlandstexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oasis Outback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing