We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Uvalde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our children and I traveled with my husband here for a business trip. The first room we were assigned was next to the elevator and had peanut shells in the window sill and floor. Moved to the room next door, which appeared to be cleaner. At approximately 9:30 pm we pulled the linens back on the bed and discovered HAIR everywhere! (head and pubic) This was not just on one bed but both. We notified the front desk and they brought more linens to our room. We went through a mountain of linens to find some that did NOT have hair on them. We had to strip both beds down to the mattress and had to put our own linens on the bed ourselves. We also found a piece of metal with prongs on it on one bed and the comforter on the other bed had something pink/red all over it. It was approximately 11:45 pm when we were finally able to go to bed but who's going to sleep knowing what the linens were like. (3 nights of not much sleep) The extra linens that were stowed in the closet for the sofabed looked like they had urine stains all over them and smelled. We also had a water bottle, bottle cap and cookie wrapper on the floor in our room. The housekeepers do NOT give you time to answer the door before they enter using their key. Twice my fingers were almost caught in the door as this happened to me. One housekeeper went around knocking on the doors stating 'the fire alarm is going off and we're checking things out but you're ok'. We never heard a fire alarm. When this was mentioned to the front desk he said they had a signal downstairs and that's why they had to check all of the rooms. As we were loading the rest of our items onto the cart so we could leave, the kids were going to the bathroom before our trip began and discovered there was NO water at the hotel. The front desk said they were trying to fix it when we were leaving. I've read a lot of good reviews at this place but for us, this was not the case. The pool was nice and the breakfast was ok....the eggs were runny the morning that we left.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pateljay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for providing us with details about your recent stay with us. On behalf of the staff, I would like to apologize for the service and inconvenience you encountered during your time here. We take these matters very seriously, and deeply regret falling short of your expectations during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room was very clean and smelled great, no dust on furniture, only place in town with a hot tub, breakfast was good they had the best cinnamon rolls I've eaten. Overall a great experience will definitely recommend this hotel to family and firends. Front desk agent was very helpful and attentive to my needs.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pateljay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guest,
We are very pleased to hear that you recently enjoyed your experience at our hotel and if there is anything we can do to accommodate you further don't hesitate to ask. Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice and clean, comfortable beds. Pool is on the west side of the building for some late afternoon sun. Breakfast is the usual for a HIexpress and hot. Easy access to major roads and local attractions.

Room Tip: Upper floors are great if you want a view of the surrounding landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pateljay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Uvalde. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please keep our hotel in mind the next time your plans bring you to Uvalde!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice room, clean, comfortable bed and quiet. Wireless worked well. Good and easy access to hotel. Pool area looked nice but weather was too cold for us to use. Only negatives were that check-in and check-out person was not very professional and breakfast was nothing special. But I would stay here again with a future trip to Uvalde.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Hermes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pateljay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for providing us with details about your recent stay with us. On behalf of the staff, I would like to apologize for the service and inconvenience you encountered during your time here. We take these matters very seriously, and deeply regret falling short of your expectations during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We're here all week for business unfortunately. The Internet connection is sporadic making it difficult to work. Neither my husband nor I can make a phone call on our cell phones from our room although we can text. So, business calls have to be made outdoors. We have to run the sink and shower faucets for 5 minutes before we get hot water. Very annoying! This morning the dining room was messy and the tables were dirty. The eggs were ice cold.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Tina P,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory internet service and issues with hot water as well as our breakfast service. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This was a super clean place
Comfy bed clean sheets clean everything. Free breakfast wifi. Beats inn of uvalde. I dnt mind the xtra cost.i know im in a clean room.. wife loved it so happy wife happy life

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texas_roper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pateljay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and will certainly be relaying all these nice messages to our staff! Please keep us in mind the next time your plans bring you to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a king suite which provides extra room with frig, microwave, and pull out sofa. Staff able to accommodate full house with no problems. Best of its' genre in Uvalde. Worthy of a 5 star rating. Will stay at holiday inn express on future trips to Uvalde.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We want to thank you for the kind words you said about our hotel. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive. We'll be sure to share it with the hotel staff. We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. The more satisfied customers we have, the more our business will thrive. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uvalde hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Uvalde
Hampton Inn Uvalde
#1 of 6 in Uvalde
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Uvalde
Days Inn Uvalde
#3 of 6 in Uvalde
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Live Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Uvalde
Motel 6 Uvalde
#5 of 6 in Uvalde
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde

Address: 2801 E Main St, Uvalde, TX 78801-4933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Uvalde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Uvalde
Price Range: $117 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Uvalde, TX, a rich oasis surrounded by all the adventures of Texas River Country, Hill Country . Escape to the Hill Country for stunning scenery or head down to the Brush Country for trophy hunting.The premier opening of Uvalde s newest hotel is perfectly accessible, just minutes from John Nance Garner Museum, Aviation Museum at Garner Field, Janey Slaughter Briscoe Grand Opera House, Fort Inge & the National Fish Hatchery. Concan Country Club, Garner State Park and Cooks Slough Sanctuary and Nature Park are just a short drive away.There are many companies that call Uvalde home: Continental, US Border Patrol, Uvalde Memorial Hospital, Vulcan Materials, American Lumber, Uvalde Flight Center, Southwest Texas Junior College, and Sul Ross State University.Winding through the heart of the Texas Hill Country, the Frio River has crystal clear, shallow underground spring fed water. Uvalde has nearly year round hunting opportunities that include whitetail deer, dove, quail, turkey, javelina and feral hog.Guests will feel comfortable & unwind in a contemporary decorated guest room or spacious suite and receive the Express Smart Start Breakfast. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. Whether planning a social occasion or a corporate meeting, our meeting space will make your next event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Uvalde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Uvalde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing