We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it Here!”
Review of Lost Maples Cafe

Lost Maples Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Utopia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Uvalde, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Love it Here!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Weekdays during lunch hour are pretty busy here... the cafe is heavily frequented by the locals. I've been a number of times and always hits the spot!

I've tried chicken friend steak, cheeseburger, and the enchiladas. All have been wonderful. They also have a huge assortment of freshly baked pies that can be sold whole or by the slice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lolajack07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    70
    18
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsville, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Area Dining”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The food was good and the staff friendly. The atmosphere is worth a visit. This was the restaurant featured in 7 Days in Utopia and it was very interesting to hear their story.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Faythe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly place to eat”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This cafe is exactly the hidden treasure we expected to discover in Texas. Not an overcrowded touist trap. Locals eat there and have a chat. A cosy and lovely interior with a lot of collectibles from the last centuries. Excellent food and deserts for a reasonable place.

We would eat there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idegenvezetoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful, lips to the hips food!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved this restaurant, great atmosphere, really good food and warm and friendly staff! A really varied menu with extrememly affordable prices!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank katherinejones49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not impressed with this cafe”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I tend to be a healthy eater and had a difficult time finding something that wasn't fried on the menu. I settled for their grilled chicken and salad. The salad was okay, but how can you mess up lettuce! the grilled chicken portion was very small, not tasty and not appealing. Since it is basically the only restaurant open in Utopia we tried it again to take out sandwiches. We waited 40 minutes for 2 turkey sandwiches, brought them back to where we were staying, only to find that they were swimming in mayonaise and had a scan slice of turkey between two slices of thick Texas toast. We ended up throwing the sandwiches in the garbage.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank itsallgood4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Maples Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lost Maples Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing