We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Utopia on the River
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Utopia
Schertz, Texas, United States
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay! Very peaceful and beautiful grounds surrounding the lodge! Beautiful very old trees and lots of wildlife! The breakfasts were fantastic! The staff treated us like family and the people of Utopia are the friendliest I've encountered!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We are lucky to have such nice surroundings and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our location and stay with us! Come back and see us again soon-breakfast awaits you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
67
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our family stayed at Utopia on the river for just one night but wished had stayed longer. This is a very quiet place where you can just relax and forget about your everyday duties. There is a river on the back, lots of trees, and nice areas to walk around and take nice pictures. The deer walk around in front of the hotel and we saw some ducks flying nearby. The hotel has a small pool and a heated jacuzzi that looked very inviting but we didn't get to use. Breakfast is very good, especially the biscuits and warm peaches. All is prepared by the wonderful owners of the place who are extremely friendly and helpful on giving you information about places nearby. On our way back we stopped at Lost Maples which is not very far and also stopped at an apple orchard where you can find the best apple pie and apple ice cream! Hope to come back sometime in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arodzull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! I am so happy to hear your family enjoyed their stay! The deer are fellow residents here and they do love to greet our guests! Of course, I love to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast too... please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, TX
Level Contributor
205 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed two nights at this motel, and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on the first floor with a view of the grounds( I believe it was the Davenport room, or Room #5) and enjoyed seeing the wild turkey and deer from our window. We also watched the deer feed in the morning as we enjoyed tea and coffee and waited for the excellent home cooked breakfasts of fried eggs, biscuits, gravy and sausage one morning and eggs Benedict the second morning. The beds were comfortable and we really were not bothered by noise from upstairs. All of the workers were extremely pleasant and efficient. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful with huge cypress trees, and the creek running along the back( although it was very low on water). It was very convenient to both Garner and Lost Maples State parks. If we ever come this way again, I will definitely stay at Utopia on the River.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Garner State Parks are fabulous and we are so happy you were able to stay with us and enjoy the sites! Please come back and "relax" with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was the first visit to this property for my wife and I. What an amazing place to stay. Super clean room, well maintained. Great service from the staff. We took a walk around the property and were pleasantly surprised to see all the deer and turkey. At dusk we were greeted to a herd of deer feeding. We took some excellent pictures. The walk to the river was great and we could see the bass in the water. What a great place to stay and enjoy nature.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We are pleased that you had such a nice visit with your wife! We are also glad you noticed how clean our property is, we work really hard to make sure our guests are comfortable! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antiquebeak
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

UOTR scored high marks from the moment we checked in (friendly, friendly) to the first view of our room (clean, clean) to the breakfast buffet (yum, yum!) We enjoyed walking the grounds even though the river was down, watching the deer, and the lodge fireplace drew us like moths our first night there (the fire was actually dying down and the owner put more logs on just for us - pecan wood which smelled divine). Everyone was helpful, accommodating and seemed genuinely concerned for our comfort. A truly wonderful place to stay, we'll be back with our husbands soon. ♥

Room Tip: Upstairs affords a nice view of the deer and limits the sounds other guests make (the wood floors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquebeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Love to hear this....glad your "girlfriend getaway" was a perfect 10! Your guest tips are lovely too, thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What an excellent place for a get away to the beautiful Hill Country in Texas. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The workout room /fitness center was provided by God! We saw so much wildlife in the area and really enjoyed our morning breakfasts generously provided by Cheryl and Karyn. We would highly recommend this place to anyone. We plan to tell our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We are pleased that you had such a nice visit to our beautiful Hill Country! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a very sweet inn on beautiful grounds. The rooms are clean, with microwave and mini-fridge (which is helpful given the lack of dining options in town). We enjoyed our visit and hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunnbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utopialodge, Social Media Manager at Utopia on the River, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a nice visit and enjoyed your stay! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Utopia on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia on the River

Property: Utopia on the River
Address: 363 County Road 360, PO Box 847, Utopia, TX 78884
Location: United States > Texas > Utopia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Utopia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopia on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Years ago, there were places you could visit in the Texas hill country and feel like you had stepped back in time to a simpler, quieter era. Places where you could let your body relax as you sat on the banks of a cool, spring-fed stream listening to the water rush over the smooth river rocks or sit in a comfortable lounge chair at night, gazing at more stars than you have seen since you were six! Did you ever wonder if such a place still exists? Well it does, and it is called Utopia on the River! Located near the little town of Utopia, Texas, Utopia on the River is a year-round vacation destination with mild winters and plenty of sunshine. Nestled on the banks of the Sabinal River, Utopia on the River has 700 feet of river frontage with a swimming pool and hot tub for your enjoyment. With a variety of activities in the area, Utopia on the River is the perfect launching point for both outdoor excursions and relaxation. Visit us today a unplug and rejuvenate in our peaceful space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Utopia on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia On The River Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing