We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overrated but a good sandwich”
Review of Four Kings

Four Kings
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Universal City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Way overrated but a good sandwich”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stopped here based on the reviews and though the food was good it is far from a top restaurant. It serves only sandwiches and soups with a small bakery section. It was compared by another as a Subway it that fits. You order at a counter from a menu on the wall in a restaurant located in a 50s strip mall. Simple but clean with café tables. Sandwiches averaged $7 nothing comes with them but chips are available for purchase.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havre, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I dream of Four Kings!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I lived in Universal City for a year and a half, and was so lucky to find out about Four Kings early. I had many delicious lunches and snack breaks at Four Kings and am counting the days until I can return! Everything there is made from scratch with love - and it ALL tastes divine! The cheesecakes are to die for and the chicken and dumpling soup is enough to make someone change their religion. The staff is friendly, fun and hard-working. Don't even get me started on the pulled pork....or the pimento cheese....ahhh...I must stop writing about it, as I am going into withdrawals. Basically, the best food I've ever had, hands-down. If you haven't gone there - GO THERE!!! You WILL be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunkistpeach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy in the tummy”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Went to Four Kings after getting in from Chicago. From here but live in Chi-town. The sandwiches are very good on warm bread. They sell out fast of items and were out soup already at 12:45pm. The desserts are homemade and also sell out fast. They always have bread pudding. They had lemon poppyseed bread pudding today but even better was a chocolate coffee cinnamon one! One bite is heaven. Get here early for the good stuff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good sandwiches!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Went there with a bunch of people from work. The sandwich and soup that I had were great. The bread was obviously fresh made. The soup which this day was mushroom bisque had lots of mushrooms and a nice flavor. The only knock against them was that some of the sandwiches came out very irregularly. I realize that they are being made by hand when you order them, but we had two of the same kind ordered at almost the same time but were delivered with about a 5 to 10 minute time difference.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sci-Guy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Family Owned Restaurant”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The sandwiches and soups are home made good, and always delicious. The desserts are some of the best that I have ever had from cheesecakes to bread puddings to cinnamon rolls to lattice coffee cakes. Everything is always made with love and care! If you haven't visited Four Kings you should go there soon. You'll be glad you did!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Kings also viewed

Universal City, TX
 

Been to Four Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing