We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Kings

Four Kings
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Universal City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been hearing good things about Four Kings for a while now. Their abbreviated hours makes them essentially a lunch place. They close at 4 M-F. I had the opportunity to stop by today to grab a couple of sandwiches to go. The place is not small inside like you would expect. It is clean and while not fancy it is friendly in staff and decor. Sandwiches here are not just run of the mill. Bread is baked fresh each day. A different soup is offered each day. Salads are available and look yummy. I did not try the brownies but I can tell you they were fairly flying out the door while I was there. BTW, I was in the door, in line and out in 10 minutes or less. Chips in large variety and drinks are also available. Probably half the people in there while I was there were Air Force in uniform (probably from Randolph just 2 miles down the road). I had the Black Forest Ham and Hubby had the cherry glazed pork loin special. WOWSA!! Yes, it was that good. If they extended their hours Subway would be out of business in short order. We will definitely be back many times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grneyedlady62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have been coming here since they opened September 2011 and their delicious soups, sandwiches, salads and desserts never dissappoint! Everything I have tried are beyond tasty! All breads are baked fresh daily as well fresh baked desserts and a daily soup! Try anything and you are sure to love it!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeannine1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SOUP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is an unusual little place only open for lunch but wow, what a place. They are a soup and sandwich and desert kind of place. They only have one kind of soup each day. We often stop just to bring home the soup! If you are in U.C. around lunch, try them!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FCH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Already planning my next visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I showed up with a friend to try out this little place. Their facebook page lists the daily specials and I was looking forward to the German Potato Soup and Filipino Street Sandwich. However, when I saw the big board of options, I was frozen with indecision. SO MANY fantastic options! Soups, salads and sandwiches. I wanted them all!! I chose the special, because I figured I could get a regular item any time. But I've been thinking about that Bahn Mi for days now. The people who worked there were very friendly. We arrived early and were the only ones there, and two different people came over to ask us how we liked our food. It was terrific.

As noon neared the place started to fill. This place is not a secret and is soon going to be incredibly busy. Be the person who finds a fantastic food joint. Go to Four Kings!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Kings also viewed

 
Universal City, TX
Universal City, TX
 

Been to Four Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing